Old Socks (5-Minute Freewrite Challenge)

in #r2cornell4 years ago


Source: Pixabay

Good day freewriters! This is my freewrite entry for the recent prompt "old socks". The 5-Minute Freewrite Challenge is an initiative by @mariannewest. Y'all are invited to join by checking her profile, and @freewritehouse.


Alvin is one of the top football players around. Being a superstar, he surely have all the riches around. He can buy anything he wants, and he can go for an extravagant vacations if he wanted to. However, on the days of his day off, he's visiting an institution where cancer patients are taken cared of. He donates large sum of money whenever he comes for a visit.

His friends and teammates invite him to hangout but he declined as he preferred to stay at home. He doesn't want to drink alcohol as his friends do so. Adequate sleep is very important for him. Those are the reasons why he declines hangouts and nightlife.

What his teammates observed from Alvin are the "old socks" he's wearing during the games. Some of the colors are fading yet he still wears them. One of his teammates told him to buy a new socks since he's wealthy enough to buy new and expensive ones. He just smiled at them.

When interviewed in a sports talk show, he was asked why he doesn't hangout, and the reasons why he's often spotted in the hospital. The "old socks" was even brought out as it's been talked about in his team.

"My beloved mother was afflicted with cancer, and battled hardly, which she succombed eventually to death. Those cancer patients are so dear to me, and I wanted them to survive. I refused to join any hangouts because I want to live healthy, as we all know what happens in clubs. I don't want to suffer as my mom did. The old socks are the last gifts my mom gave to me. Thoss were knitted by her, and it reminds me of her love for me. In fact, I am wearing one of them."


IMG_20200902_191008.jpg

This my entry for the freewrite prompt "old socks" which was written through the app squibler.io.

This was also posted on Peakd

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 60936.15
ETH 2921.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70