Drilling for Quotes on Art and Your Thoughts #6steemCreated with Sketch.

in #quotes6 years ago

Greetings, thinklings!

As usual I will provide a quote by an artist of any kind - it could be a writer, a painter, a movie maker, most frequently a photographer - they are less known to general audience, anyway.

It won't be that random this time. I am on a series with Andy Warhol - today's quote and maybe a few of the next ones will again belong to him. I feel more than one of those apply to the steemit artists' efforts.

But tell me what you think!

You are welcome to post in the comments your own insights on the topic or pieces of art that relate to it. Or other related quotes (with their source, please). Any personal experience on topic will also be appreciated. I will do some analysis in the comments but not right away.

No other rules than staying on topic and respect for each other. No other promised* rewards than each other's attention and who knows what else - good things and value surely will follow.

*I will still reward selected comments in ways I can at certain moments. The more I grow, the more I will help you.

Drill 6.jpg

Here it is:

'It does not matter how slowly you go so long as you do not stop.'

― Andy Warhol

Sort:  

In a general sense I would have to say I agree with that. When you stop, especially creatively, you stand a chance of having a long time before you manage to get started back again. Even if you are only going slow for a time, you still stay in the creative energy flow, which can crank back up to 90 miles an hour at any given moment without much effort.

Yup... the thing nowadays is, in my experience - too many tracks to keep going on. Skipping a beat is not a good thing. But I cannot be everywhere so Some things I do... they stop. All the previous efforts almost undone. So I set priorities, but they also may vary and a former priority task may fall out of attention for too long.

So how does one manage?

I think you said it when you said you set priorities.

I sometimes think there is an illusion these days that we should be able to do everything and sometimes it appears other people are? (appearances are deceptive.. .yes ?? ) However, my assessment of life is that, there is no way to do everything and do it right. If you try to do everything (or too many things) you will only be able to take a slap at most of it while you are running by as there is no time for quality participation.

I believe you have to look at yourself and determined the few things that REALLY mean the most to you and then you focus and participate in them fully, saying "no thanks" to the rest of it. Of course there may still be the rare occasional side item that circumstances cause you to side step too, but those should have a definite end time, so your focus still stays on the few, most meaningful things you have chosen to be your life.

It's ok to change a main focus at some time if you give something 100% and find it does not feed your soul. We are human and we grow and change, so what fits our lives now and gives our lives meaning may be different in 10 years. The point is you need to choose the very few most meaningful "tracks" and give them your all.

At the end of this week I will be upgrading my schedule. I do need some hard planning. I found that writing things down does improve my productivity but now is the time to set limits to the time I spend on... everything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11