You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Speak?

in #psychology6 years ago

It must be rewarding to have those sorts of conversations. I see you're from Ireland. I think it's part of your culture to be able to speak like that, casually and genuinely at the same time. Some of my favorite customers are Irish and I really admire their connection to friends and family. (To be honest I'm a little jealous of it.)

It's much like what we encounter here in the states, down south. Someone will strike up a conversation at the gas station or the grocery store, and it's hard as a New Englander to accept that they just want to talk.

Sort:  

True. I am from Ireland and it's part of the culture to talk and welcome. It's what we know, what we were raised as.

I know from experience that some people find it very strange and unusual. I was in america last summer touring the west coast and we would talk to anybody or go anywhere but sometimes when we were out with Americans they would be telling me not to talk to strangers and it could be dangerous. I obviously ignored that and had no problem asking people questions or chatting to them on a night out but some of the people with us just couldn't get over it. I found it very funny how closed off the were really but it's how they were raised and the culture that they have.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37