You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Speak?

in #psychology6 years ago

I'm always more comfortable with interactions online. Maybe it's because I'm free to respond, or not - and to take my time if I need to think first.

When you're in person, you're psychologically obligated to respond right away. You might say something you regret, because you feel like you have to be polite. And you might find yourself buying something you don't want or need. Salesmen are especially predatory when they get their hands on someone who is naturally agreeable.

Sort:  

I fully agree about your reasoning for choice for online communication. Though that would also depend on the situation. If the subject is important and the correspondent is not getting it or taking it lightly, I would prefer face to face conversation or at least through phone. This happens mostly at work.

I have been into cases of buying something that was not planned. When I realized what was happening, I came to the point if being snub because sales people were literally tailing me.

And yes, I have also been suspicious if people suddenly become serious with me when they did not use to. During those times, I realized they come forward for a serious talk as if we are close because they need something. Then we go back to being just acquaintances afterwards. It is sad but I learned my lessons then.

You're right. There are a lot of times where hashing things out over a normal conversation is a lot more efficient than sending dozens of texts back and forth. But we get so used to the convenience of texting that it becomes psychologically difficult to make that phone call.

I agree. And sometimes cost of voice services or calling can be another hindrance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43