CAUGHT UP IN THE WEB OF PSYCHIATRIST SORCERY

in #psychology7 years ago

''I can see you're sad, even when you smile, even when you laugh
I can see it in your eyes, deep inside you want to cry''

18767939_169067863627239_3725590754893391588_n.jpg

There are millions of people in the world, just like me, that find themselves caught up in the web of psychiatric sorcery. A spell, that for some, can last a lifetime. We are told to“take our medication“ and that we have a“chemical imbalance“. They tell us “they will heal you“, “they will save your life“. We start to view ourselves as flawed and vulnerable and that our well being is dependant on artificial means.

THE STIGMA
We live in a society that preaches normality for people who suffer from mental illness. We are told to seek help. “Go to therapy”, “take medications”, “don’t be ashamed of your conditions”, “it’s a chemical imbalance.” Yet theres still so much stigma associated to them.

The stigma of mental health issues is making us sicker. Isnt so easy to say things such as ”change your mindset” ”You can choose what thoughts control your life”? What you need to understand, however, is that people with BPD, Depression, Anxiety, and countless other mental illnesses, do not have the luxury of picking and choosing which negative / positive emotions affect them on a day to day basis. Its often hard in depression because we tend to develop bad habits of being addicted to our sadness, like it has became a part of us, something we can’t no longer live without. Theres all this misunderstanding about people who struggle with mental health issues, but little do you know, it can happen to anybody. You never know when life is going to hit you hard enough to break you. And when it does, trust me, you dont want to be demonized by society. We dont need that, we do it enough to our own selves.

ANTIPSYCHOTICS AND ANTIDEPRESSANTS // MY EXPERIENCE WITH THEM
Antidepressants and antipsychotics damaged my life to a degree. I believe they are helpful for some of us, but you need to be put on the right dosage and monitored closely by a psychiatrist. According to me, they are given out too quickly. If I look back on my life 3 years ago, Im not going to lie, I was in such a bad place mentally that there was no doubt I needed serious help, which I did, but to what cost?

7 pills a day for 2 years. I was numbed by drugs 24/7 and it killed the soft and kind hearted person who I once was. My medication ruined many of my relationships. It seemed to limit my ability to feel any emotion at all. I became completely indifferent to people who mattered to me. I was able to make cold, blunt, logic driven decisions much more easily and it did help in a pure buisness-like transactional kind of way. It helped to deal with the day-to-day managements aspects of life, work, buisness. Simply put, I just didnt give a fuck. The last thing I needed, after losing all of my friends and cribbling in debts, was other health problems. From sexual dysfonction, to lost of appetite, I started thinking that these problems were going to stick with me forever.

I look at the time I was on medication as a very lost period of my life. Very limited recollection of memories. I cant recall the experience or re-live it in my mind, I simply feel nothing, only emptiness.

Sort:  

Psychologists and Medical Doctors like to pretend that what they are trained in is the only way to treat a disease or disorder. There is a plethora of methods of treating a patient with just about everything (except surgery), but only a few are viewed socially acceptable. Unfortunately mental health, like Cancer is just another industry for big pharma to make a buck (At least in the US).

My understanding of this stigma you are talking about stems mostly from peoples ignorance and fear of the unknown. People wouldn't make comments like you mentioned if they understood what mental illness is and what it is like so they have. So their own ideas fuel what it means to be bi-polar or Disassociative personality or have bouts of depression. The best way to combat this is to get the word out and educate people. You are doing a fine job of that 👏. A simple hello, hug or smile can make all the difference. We are all human after all 😁.

Are you serious? Seven pills a day? That is ridiculous. That reminds me of my dad. He used to have to take a lot of medication for Lupus :( I can't image the fog you must have been under. I hope you are past a lot of this by now in your life and have good people in your life and that your Steemit family is here for you too if you ever need them. :)

Thanks for the great post!

Hey there!🤩😘
Thank you so much for your amazing input as always!
I totally agree with you!
Lack of education is such a big problem and it goes for just about anything.
While it’s impossible to eliminate all stigma, spreading awareness as much as possible can make a big difference.

Thanks so much again for reading me☺️😘

Sabrina, thank you for this post! Even though sharing a personal story like this one is very tough, this is what helps raise awareness and fight mental health stigma.

I wanted to resteem your post, but I'm not able to for some reason.

Wow thank you so much!🖤😘 I am very happy to see that your are a mental health advocate as well! Looking forward to see these posts:) and welcome to Steemit. I saw that you joined in august😍 I'll see you around and thx again!!:) I don't see the resteem button as well😳 But ur too sweet!!!! @milansteskal

Thank you! I'm really optimistic about all of this and believe that people like you who are brave enough to speak openly about their problems will play a significant role in destigmatizing mental health.

I have just published a post that I wrote some time ago and was originally published by Huffington Post. If you want to read it - https://steemit.com/psychology/@milansteskal/my-journey-to-mental-clarity

Wow thank you very much once again:)) Well said! Breaking the silence is taking a step forward to end the stigma. Wow I read Huffington Post often thats so cool!:) Will definetly look it up hun! Thanks for sharing!!:) xoxo @milansteskal

Great post. Medicalising human emotion is this a travesty. A life balance is not gained through medication. Yes it has its place, but it will not help if we don't actively try to establish a healthy life balance in all aspects of our lives.
Thanks. Welcome to steemit.
Resteemed. Following.

Wow you said it all! Thank you so much! I am so grateful for that, its my first resteem since I am on here and I appreciate it so much! :) :) @girlbeforemirror

You're welcome @steemityourway. It's nice to see new people here. I'm sure you'll do well, you seem like you have a great attitude. :)

Thanks a bunch! That means so much:) Could say the same about you;) @freeinthought

Congratulations @steemityourway! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Nice post. I fill u. I had also big problems with my life when i divorced 4 years ago. They said i had BPD. I was also filled with antipsychotics and antidepressants and i felt it wont help me (. And it didnt. So i left all this shit and slowly beggining to live my life at full. Life is so f great!

Oh no that's terrible, I'm very sorry to hear that. So glad you left all of it behind and that you feel better:)! Divorce is hard as hell. Definetly one of my biggest fears since I saw it happen with my own parents. Sending much strength and love your way Peter! Xoxo

Heavy.

I watched this TedX Whitechapel this morning, uploaded by The Spiritual Physicist - Cre8-Health RSO THCCBD which I found quite interesting. I also briefly touched on this pharmaceutical zombified state we're induced/reduced to in a post a few days ago in Life/Loss. Crazy, how we are being so disconnected from our spirituality by the powers/evil forces that be.

Oh thanks a lot! I'll make sure to check this out:)!! @tommygun

Cool! herewith link use it/don't use it : )

https://steemit.com/life/@tommygun/loss

She must be bipolar!!! Anybody that trusts psychiatrists needs to watch this...

What do you mean exactly by saying this?

Psychiatrists don't really help people anymore... If you're happy sometimes and sad at other times, then obviously "bipolar." (Which is a made-up condition). I take care of my former boss who is so full of psychotropic drugs he can't even take care of himself- and there's nothing wrong except that he's overmedicated. Watch the video I posted- it explains everything.

I agree with you to an extent because from my personal experience, its true that psychiatrists sometimes diagnose too quickly and give medication too quickly as well. But some people really need medication to function properly and in those specific cases, they need to be followed and monitored closely and frequently. But I will make sure to check your vid! @richq11 thanks:)

exactly. BPD is made up.

It all is!

Some psychiatrists overuse medication, but you can't say that mental illnesses don't exist.

I never said mental illness doesn't exist. The focus has shifted away from therapy to drugging patients, which is a bad thing. Instead of helping people overcome anxiety and depression, they call it a "chemical imbalance," however, there's no test to determine what chemicals are out of balance. They just prescribe psychotropics, basically numbing the patient.

OK, I misunderstood that part. On the other hand, it seems to me that you generalize too much. There is still a lot of people that go to therapy and many patients need their medication. Clearly, the situation isn't ideal. One of the possible reasons could also be that much more people need help from a mental health professional (whether it's a psychiatrist, therapist or someone else), but there isn't enough of them. More than 50% people with mental illness never receive any care.

A therapy takes more time and is more complicated than medication and since the psychiatrist has a full waiting room... Our software has helped psychiatrists see 10-15 more patients per week while not spending more time at work. It's good to see that healthcare has started realizing the importance of mental health and the government has started incentivizing care providers focus on mental health (even in primary care, chronic conditions, ob/gyn, etc) and also measure the outcomes.

The term "mental illness" is very broad and encompasses so much that it's difficult not to generalize when speaking in this limited format. If you would like to hear about one specific case, I would be happy to oblige.

I'd actually respectfully disagree exactly with that because that's what may lead to false accusations of, for example, psychiatrists who do their work well and I'm sure that there are many. I'm not sure whether a public discussion is is a good way to discuss details of a particular case.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88