What are the Origins of Morality ?

As a thinking human I always wondered how do we decide good or bad ? or how this conception even occured. Was it inside us or we just developed this mechanicsm after getting results from our every action. However Morality is quite interesting thing to talk about. We get this impulse from outer world. We learn it from our family , people around us without even knowing it and we embrace it someway.

What if You are All Alone on the World ?

Eventhough a lot of evidence shows that we learn morality from external sources this question still examines is morality rather internal or external.

Do you think that the alone persons actions will change because of the circumstances ? or will it change ? Do you think he/she will start to hurt animals or plants because nobody is going to judge him/her. These are the main questions we need to think about in a situation like this.

Well I can only think answers of these question by thinking about myself. Because I thought about it and I won't change a lot in a situation like this because , when we actually think about it the concept of right and wrong is still in there.

Well obviously the invidiual in that situation will create a new autocontrol mechanicsm however I don't think it will change the behavioral acts. Morality is a concept that has been constructed for societal beliefs since the beggining of humanity.

However I still got a question in my mind ? Lets think about the first people that lived on the earth. How did they find the concept of good or bad ? Who decided what is good or bad in the begining that is the main question I really wonder about morality and how we structured some kind of complex morality from oblivion ? Please enlighten me if you people have ideas on this matter.

Thanks for Reading & Hasta La Vista!

Sort:  

Nice contemplation. I've contemplated that a while for myself back a year ago. The first thing I thought of when I read this was this quote below:

source
I believe our tendencies, beliefs, attitudes, morals, etc, are hard-wired and conditioned since birth. They are a product of our environment and upbringing. One may have a great upbringing and continue that pattern, where others may not have such a great upbringing and decide to be a victim and repeat that process or change everything about the pattern they know, and of course there are ones who are a mix of both. Upbringings and conditioning are not bad things, it is a part of life and growing up, but it is something that anyone can ponder and understand why they believe what they believe. It can be used as a tool to reflect and get a better understanding to discern how they perceive truth.

In the past, we have seen throughout religion and history that laws were implemented throughout each culture, just like we have laws today. Some people abide and others do not. There are many factors within a person biologically and spiritually that can determine these outcomes.

“Education is the art of making man ethical.”

– Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel –

It is a really difficult concept. Sometimes we really understand the true meaning of morality by not following it...

good or bad justify by experience and learning, first man never had experience or no one guide him

Yeah that is my question

Message removed

Damn, I missed it again!!!

Damn I missed it too sekrut messages

In keeping with the philosophy of a great many people on steemit, how would one understand a decentralized morality?

I believe Darwin had a theory that morality evolved along with the human species. Of course this can be in direct contrast with ideological beliefs, or a mixture of the two.
I think people just learned over time what happens when they treat each other poorly. Maybe it's one step forward, two steps back at times.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64418.55
ETH 3157.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.06