You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Not Feeling Like Yourself? Psychology Says It's Not You

I don't like the part of me that strives to control every little thing about my life. Planning is good, but sometimes we just need to loosen up a little bit. (This I fail to do). A christmas party?I'll plan about it months before. A two day vacation? I'll plan every single bit of it and pack my bags a month before. Not an exaggeration. Evening dinner? I'll decide what to wear a week ahead. I really want to change this part of me. But I just can't control it. That's what I hate the most. Maybe the "manager" in me is the boss, controlling things most of the time. Haha. I often get frustrated and angry whenever things don't go the way I planned them to be. Thanks for sharing @thegaillery!

Sort:  

Thank you, for sharing Ree. That is interesting. Have you asked yourself why you tend to do such? Is it because you like to be in control? Or is it because you fear that things will go wrong if you don't plan ahead? Whether it's the manager or not, you can always try to talk to yourself (and your other selves) about it. I highly recommend giving Eric's article a read. I placed a link in the references part, Ree. Naa siya'y gipanghatag na ways unsaon pag work around the other yous. Hehe. Thanks again for sharing!

Thanks @thegaillery! Maybe because I fear things to go out of control. I've had a pretty rough past, maybe my obsession with planning can be somehow traced to that. I always feel like unlikely things could happen if I don't plan ahead.I'll try to give it a read!

I'm sorry for your rough past, Ree. I wish that you won't let your rough past get in the way of your hopeful future :) Can't wait to meet you in person!

My take on your case @reewritesthings is that we all have tendencies to plan and anticipate what lies ahead. This might be an effect of our obsession to make things go according to our plan. We are so afraid of failures and mishaps. While it's not really a bad thing, if this goes out of hand, we tend to overthink and stress ourselves over things we don't have control.

I was like you before. I am borderline OCD, I guess. I grew up as an achiever, so I always see failure differently. I want to be in control of everything.

Everything changed when I tried things I'm not comfortable doing. They're not bad things though. I hang out with easy-go-lucky people. We adopted a "no cancellation of laags" mindset. We tried hiking or mountain climbing even if it was raining so hard.

You just have to loosen up a little and you'll be amazed of how adaptive you are.

Thanks @ybanezkim26! Yes, I've tried hanging out with friends who are "happy go lucky" , and it totally helped. Maybe as time goes by, I'll learn how to not make things complicated and not think too much. :)

Thia is so me hahaha. I always have a plan for everything! The bad side about it is that it is so frustrating when the plan doesnt go as planned. I then spiral down in my own thoughts thinking what I must have done wrong. I think this side of me has made me quite an achiever in school but I need to loosen up a little bit as well if I am to make the most of each moment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34