Mini Motivation #97 - Remembering the Younger Days of Peer Pressure

in #psychology6 years ago

When I was younger, a young adult really, I had always issues with my self-confidence. I looked at the cool kids and wanted to become like them. I would try to follow the trend, keep to the hype, stay in the know. Loads of effort was placed in it, and of course, it had cost me quite a bit too.

And sometimes, trying to be the cool kid had also impacted my health. A couple of times I would follow them into bars and drank, even when I knew I couldn't take alcohol. Made myself looked stupid, really.

I was reminded of those days recently when one of the friends brought it up, commenting that I did not do that anymore. I quickly brushed it aside, saying that I'm old and all, but the truth is, over the years of being coaches and mentored, I had enjoyed 's great boost in my confidence. Instead of following others for the sake of being accepted, I would prioritize learning and growth. I was also trained to pick the right crowd to hang out with, because seriously, you are your five closest friends!

Not that I am being judgemental, because I am pretty sure the cool kids are doing very well, too. Though I don't hang out with them anyway, and being away from social media also meant I "see" lesser of them, but I'm pretty sure they are still cool, in their own way.

I guess over time, we just shift priorities, and we start to understand what is really cool at our current stage of life.

What about you? Had you ever had peer pressure? How did you deal with it?

Mini Motivation is my own daily strategy to inspire myself. Mostly 3-minute reads.

From Motivation, we gain Inspiration. From Inspiration, we achieve Momentum. And the rest, they say, is history.

Hope it helps nudge you a bit too in the right direction.

Oh it did? Let me know in the comments, and of course an upvote would be a nice motivation for me. :)

Stay awesome!


Hi there! Thanks for stopping by. I mostly blog about Steemit Success Strategies, business, marketing, entrepreneurship, psychology, community and random thoughts.

Talking about Steemit Success Strategies, if you want to 10x your results on this platform, perhaps some of these guides will be able to help you.

  1. How to generate at least 365 post ideas for your Steemit Life (and possibly never run out of ideas again!)
  2. The 4 Big Cs of Steemit Success
  3. 8 Content Strategies to Excite & Engage your Steemit Followers
  4. 29 Steemit Post Types to Attract More Followers & Boost Your Popularity (Part 1)
  5. 29 Steemit Post Types to Attract More Followers & Boost Your Popularity (Part 2)
  6. Copywriting Magic for Steemit: "How To" Post Titles
  7. Copywriting Magic for Steemit: "List Type" Post Titles
  8. Steemit Success Strategies #1 - The Law of Requisite Variety
  9. Steemit Success Strategies #2 - Batching + Parkinson's Law
  10. How to apply the 80/20 rule to your Steemit Life
  11. Steemit Experiment Report: 21 days, 21 minutes, 21 posts later, PLUS an 8-Step Guide on How to Write a Steemit Post every day under 30 minutes
  12. Case Study on Bid Botting - A Steemit Bootcamp follow-up module, a cheatsheet and why I probably won't use it

At least once a month, I run Steemit community events and training workshops with my buddies at #teammalaysia too. Some examples are:

  1. Steemit Bootcamp March 2018 - KICKSTART Your Steemit Success
  2. BoilerRoom 03.03.2018 | Let's Huddle, Hustle & Hack Out Awesome Steemit Contents!

I'm also grateful to be part of #steemitbloggers , SmartSteem and the sndbox.

Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

follow_maverickfoo.gif


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD5, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

Sort:  

I think people begin to understand that they are special and cool in their own way as they grow up. Being popular and things of that nature no longer shape who you are as a person. We get more and more comfortable in our own skin with each and every experience! Be who you are and don't let anyone change that!

Everyone deals with peer pressure, hopefully more young kids can see that it is just a stage and it passes with time! :)

"hopefully" is the key word there, because I still see adults trying to be in the cool club and lose third identity to it.

@maverickfoo I suppose in many ways as we grow and mature and begin to discover "who we truly are" then we become more comfortable and confident in standing our ground and making decisions based on what we know is best for us as individuals and not for the sake of fitting in or pleasing others.

Yeah, I credit those early days to a lost-and-to-be-found stage of our lies. We follow the wave of trend just because we don't know who we are, and those "experiments" did certainly gave us experience. I guess eventually we all get to the lost-and-found stage. :)

Thanks for dropping in, @jaynie!

I feel you @maverickfoo .. Been there..growing up is a journey of learning to be wiser. Think with your head, not with your heart.

I think head and heart need to talk more, so that they can tell each other how stupid their impulses are, haha.

Eventually, I think they do. And as a result, we become wiser.

Peer pressure is the byproduct of sociality. Put it this way, I imagine myself staying in mental hospital, the only peer pressure I had will be myself. Because everyone of my "peer" would have their own agenda anyway. Who give a park of what I do and what I don't? So yeah, when I face pressure from "peer", I imagine if they're from mental hospital. I can live in my own perfect little world and having a lot of siok sensitive moment without worrying too much of them. Competition is real, pressure is not.

Competition is real, pressure is not.

Ho seh liao! This is a great quote!

Yupe, when I was in secondary school I don't want to be alone and I want to be one of them. Hence, I follow them hang out at snooker area, cyber cafe, skip schools, and so on. When I started to work, I prefer to have more time for myself, doing whatever I love to do, I'm cool if I'm alone, watch a movie alone and so on. I'm not sure how are they now as I also seldom "see" them on social media and we don't hang out anymore as we don't have a common topic to talk to.
I feel good to be myself, to explore myself who am I, what I really want in my life and I believe these all thought lead me to who I am today and I'm getting more and more awesome social group of friends who really connect and talk about growth and learning (sometimes bullshxt as well) :)

I think it's a phase we all go through, eh?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28