Mini Motivation #7 - Make an appointment with yourself

in #psychology7 years ago

Do you doubt yourself? I'll never get this right because I'm dumb!

Do you say things to yourself that are hurtful? I'm so useless I don't deserve to live!

Do you put others before you? If I don't do this for my family, that means I'm a bad person!

Some justify it as selflessness, others "giving myself to the world". You've experienced it. You may have even done it to yourself this week.

Whatever story you tell yourself, it's ok to love yourself first. My Master used to tell me that,

"You can't give others what you don't have."

With practiced moderation, of course. Take the middle path between "loving yourself too much until you become self-entered, selfish and egoistic", and "loving others until it wears you out".

If you find practiced moderation hard, try this:

Spread out the calendar for the month, and block out 20% time for yourself. Time with partners, time with family, time with causes are NOT time for yourself. It can be anything from a solo fishing trip, watching a movie by yourself, curling up with that book you've been meaning to read or even a morning stroll before the world wakes up.

Some people say time and attention is the greatest gift you can give anytime.

Give that to yourself.

Mini Motivation is my own daily strategy to inspire myself. Mostly 3 minute reads.

From Motivation, we gain Inspiration. From Inspiration, we achieve Momentum. And the rest, they say, is history.

Hope it helps nudge you a bit too in the right direction.

Oh it did? Let me know in the comments, and of course an upvote would be a nice motivation for me. :)

Stay awesome!


Wait, why's Mav posting on Steemit nowadays?

Well, unlike other blogging and social media platform, Steemit is the only platform that allows me to earn cryptocurrency when I engage with it. Yup, one Steem is about USD7, and you, too, can earn Steem Dollars every time you:

  • Create content (articles, blog posts, podcasts, videos, photos)
  • Upvote (like) other people contents
  • Comment on other people's posts
  • Have discussions, share opinions etc!

Yup, basically it's the very same thing you're doing on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram etc all along!

The only difference? For once you can earn a nice income on the side!

Sign up for a free Steemit account, and you can thank me by coming back and upvoting this article. And guess what, you will earn Steem too for doing that! #awesome

follow_maverickfoo.gif

Sort:  

Wonderful story.... thanks for sharing

Glad you enjoyed it! Have a nice weekend!

This post has hit the right note for me. Thanks for the simple reminder in life which pulls one back on track from time to time. I like the Mini Motivation series which you have been sharing.. Keep it up!

Thanks Grace! You're growing so fast in Steemit!

Thanks for this message... God bless...

Have a nice weekend, @manzon!

Lets migrate from FB to Steemit!

Already did. Just posting there nowadays to drive some crowd to Steemit, and maybe sign them up! Steem On!

Thanks for sharing maverick!

Thanks @williamsyee. Have a great weekend.

Man, I heard someone said something to me years back that really rang true, at least for me it did. Someone made the observation that me being brutally hard on myself is because I was just too hard and judgemental in general. Kind of opened my eyes.

I was upset with myself for not living up to my own unreasonable expectations. The same expectations that caused me to be judgemental and harsh with other people. When you learn to ease up your expectations you feel a lot better and you treat other people a lot better too. Two birds, one stone.

Hmph, that's great insight and reflection, @kangarooninja. Kind of reminds me that what happens on the inside reflects on the outside. Haven't heard that advice for a while. Thanks for reminding.

Yeah, no problem. I dig your content.

"You can't give what you do not have" but sometimes, we dind ways to give on something we do not have...and that is the act of toooo much kindness... I hope I make sense, :D

Yeah, I can relate to that. Not the wisest of moves, but I've done that a couple of times.

Because you are one of a kind... more powers to you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48