Mid-Life Personality Development + Jungian Theory Of Personality Differences

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

20180331_205916.jpg

I'm not going to write a very long piece because I'm don't have the time or the inclination right now. My daughter's school year began three weeks ago and we've all had the flu this weekend. I coughed my eyes out last night and the night before that I had a sore throat preventing me to sleep well. @tarazkp knows what I'm talking about all too well as his daughter fell ill, too.

Anyway, what I wanted to write about how it is quite common for people to begin to develop a more well-rounded personality at middle age. I'm not that into pop psychology such as the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator because such watered-down ideas tend to oversimplify and actually cause harm if used to pigeonhole people by corporate HR departments. That said, when I was younger I was clearly - and still am - predominantly of the NT temperament. In plain English it means that I'm have always been interested in the abstract and imaginary as opposed to concrete hands-on topics, the future potential of things or timeless principles as opposed to a nostalgic past, tradition or the here-and-now. Also, I've also been predominantly inclined to use logic and analysis to pick things apart and judge them.

Central to the Jungian theory of personality differences are four so-called cognitive functions that are broad categories of skills and preferences. Jung named them intuition, sensing, feeling and thinking. Each of them can take an extroverted or an introverted attitude. In my case, it is fairly obvious that the dominant one has been either intuition its extroverted attitude or thinking in its introverted attitude. I'm inclined to think quickly on my feet and to come up with ideas and solutions. Whether they are any good is a different matter. I'd say I'm socially extroverted but not very far from the average because I don't mind alone time either.

At middle-age it is typical for people to want to widen their repertoire and to want change. In my case, what happened was that @gamer00 introduced me to Steem in early 2017. I finally got round to creating this account in February 2017. I started posting in earnest in June 2017. A lot of posts here were centered around photography. I started taking more photos than before at around that time. Combining blogging and photography was new to me. At first, I'd just document things with my camera phone with text being the main content. I didn't even consider photography a hobby of mine until about March this year. I still don't have a real camera but you can study many aspects of photography with even a phone camera.

Photography is a visual art. In Finland, school grades range from four to ten. Four is failure, five and six and the lowest passing grades, seven and eight are considered satisfactory (and average) while nine and ten are considered excellent. I always had an eight in Arts from primary to upper secondary in school. My photography hobby was kicked off by a desire to make money on Steem but the more I did it the more satisfying I found it. I think my starting a photography hobby ties in with mid-life personality development. I'm exploring my sensing function. In my case, partly limited by gear but also out of personal preference, it is about an increasing use of sensing in the introverted attitude. Photographic composition is all about being cognizant of patterns and laws that the human visual system are subject to and an intrinsic sense of beauty and harmony based on patterns common in nature that humans have. It should not have come as a huge surprise that I'd take up a new hobby like this at this stage. I've always had this in me, although buried under other preferences. For example, my wife has often used me as an arbiter of taste when it comes to clothing and interior decoration. And that hasn't even been about asking trick questions typical of women in the vein of "Do I look fat in this?". :D

Sort:  

Having flu might be a change of environment as your daughter just resumed school. (my thought). Sorry, about the cough, I hope you get some treatments concerning it.

Also, I've also been predominantly inclined to use logic and analysis to pick things apart and judge them.

I think this is something that is more common among men than women since it is usual for men to analyze issues based on logic.

I'm inclined to think quickly on my feet and to come up with ideas and solutions.

I love this part. This puts you on alert at all times. This psychology inclined post suggests that you will always enjoy @abigail-dantes blog. You can check it out.

I still don't have a real camera but you can study many aspects of photography with even a phone camera.

Honestly, you do have a lot of good shots and I really commend that. Smart phones are getting more sophisticated that it is replacing traditional cameras. However, there are a lot of photography tools and cameras which are advancing the field of photography.

In Finland, school grades range from four to ten.

In Nigeria, we use the percentage scale, below 39 is fail and 40 is the minimum score.

The last sentence makes me laugh, Hahaha. No woman loves to hear that she is fat. Lol

Loading...

I think my most dominant function is feeling, with a more introvertive touch.

Funny the things we find satisfaction doing when our bodies yearns for more. I took up fashion designing (at a point) as a hobby and actaully made a little money from it. It certainly satisfied my 'early twenties crisis'

Sorry about your flu, I hope you get better soon...
About having more balanced personality at middle-age, I think this so because we tend out grow our childish tensions/cares. We don't care about most of the things we did in our early lives.
I'm just 23( will be 24 in 7day), and I think I grew into the true self in my late teen years when I discovered poetry. I became aware and one with my thoughts/emotions. And yes I love being analytically, but my intuition overrides the logical side of me most times.

I don't think it's about growing out of childish concerns. I'm in my mid-forties and at this age one typically has been living independently for 20-25 years and been leading a settled adult life for quite some time, often 15-20 years in modern societies. Many people begin to want some kind of change at that stage. You're a couple of decades from this stage in your life depending on what kind of lifestyle you decide to choose for yourself in the coming years.

I've been sick since Thursday-Friday night. (I woke up freezing a few times and wondered if the draft might affect Kiemis. Gladly it wasn't the draft killing Kiemis, but just me having a fever.) Had to skip the gym.

Also, when Leo came back from the week-long field trip to Koli, he had also managed to get the flu. So we are now both sick.

I've been sleeping pretty much non-stop since Friday. Finally having a bit more energy but still have some stuffiness in my sinuses and sandpaper in my throat.

I hope to be in shape by tomorrow.

Let's hope so. It usually takes up to a week or even two for the body to fully recover from the flu. But I'm already feeling better.

👍🏻

Oh lovely man
And your images are amazing awesome.
Please appreciate my work also and please Upvote

Thanks for the compliments. Asking for upvotes is not the way to steem, however. If you want support from another Steemian, it's a good idea to become a regular and valuable commenter. Just flat out asking for support will not cut it.

your photographs wow me amazing photos!

Really you are good photographer, you shows shade of nature by your photography.... Thanks for sharing...

Despite that you didn't much time, this one is detail enough.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84