Female and Male Differences in Evolutionary Thought Processes

in #psychology6 years ago

Evolutionary Psychology is one of the most interesting subjects ever, to me! Virtually every behavior we exhibit is rooted in the strive to survive. Meaning, the ultimate end-goal of most behaviors is to survive and reproduce.

In one of my classes, I think it was Cog Neuro (Cognitive Neuroscience), I learned about how females tend to remember more details about an event, compared to males, who, more generally, better remember the gist of an event. This immediately made me think of how, when couples reflect on a previous argument, females often remember exact phrases that were said, or otherwise remember alot of detail about the argument.

I wonder how this relates to Evolutionary Psychology. In particular, what would be the evolutionary purpose for a woman to concentrate on the details of an argument more than a man?

Could it be an evolutionary attempt to compensate for less physical strength, compared to men? In the midst of an argument, both sides are in a defensive state. Being very attentive to the words being said could potentially give someone a mental edge and upper-hand in an argument. In worst case scenarios, the opponent's words can be "used against them."

Any thoughts on this subject? I may be completely missing the mark and this was a little bit more difficult to put into words than I thought it would be.

I would love to hear any other theories or critiques of my theory!male-female-cover.jpg

Sort:  

As I was reading this I was thinking to myself, "well that explains why my wife remembers the exact words said during an argument we had 6 months ago" lol. I would also like to know what the evolutionary advantage is. You may be on the right path. Btw, I am a curator with @ocd and would love to nominate your post.


This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Let me know if you have any questions regarding the project or nomination. Hope to hear from you soon!


If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd to reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem. You can read about it here.

Awesome! I accept! Thank you so much mk40!

And, yep, this may explain why women are more notorious for bringing up the past! Our keen attention to detail is a blessing and a curse!

Congratulations @lindabrooke! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

" Could it be an evolutionary attempt to compensate for less physical strength, compared to men? "

Definitely, yes. Our behaviours all reflects our evolutionary past.

Exactly. It's amazing how so much of our original evolutionary responses are still at play in today's changing world. For example,general physical attraction to healthy, not overweight bodies remains, even though our diets have changed dramatically.

I do not have an answer to the question but I think your theory that it may be an "attempt to compensate for less physical strength, compared to men" is an interesting one. Gives me something to think about further. Nice post!

Thank you! Glad to provide food for thought :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lindabrooke to be original material and upvoted(2%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66499.54
ETH 3203.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14