Mental Malingering.

in #psychology7 years ago (edited)

Mental illness is not a joke. It's not something to use to get attention.
I have found that an increasing number of people that I know, like to
pretend to be mentally ill to explain away their laziness, or lack of
desire to make an effort in an aspect of their life. This is not to disparage
people with actual problems. It does a disservice to those with actual
problems to pretend to have problems when you don't.

This can't be just something I'm noticing. I hear it all the time, "It's just
my OCD", or "It must be my Asperger's". If a person doesn't have an
actual problem, then blaming inattentiveness, or lack of care on a
nonexistent illness, mental or physical, is called malingering.

By comparison, I offer the case of false rape accusation. How is that, at
all, the same? I'll tell you. When someone invents a crime, they say has
been committed against them, and it is found out, this leads others to
take it less seriously the next time they hear someone cry foul, even if
it's true. This is the moral of the 'never cry wolf' story.

So please, if you are simply lazy, or can't be bothered to make an effort
in your life, don't demean others by pretending to be challenged when
you are not. That is deliberate deception, and next time, when you are
really in trouble, when the wolf of mental illness is at your door,
maybe no one will believe you.


Can you spell irony? I knew that you could.

How to Tell if Someone is Faking Mental Illness
Malingering / Factitious Disorder

images: moderatelydelusional.files.wordpress.com/2014/07/fake-parents.jpg
hellinahandbasket.net/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/snarling-wolf.jpg
video: www.youtube.com/watch?v=986Z-OzqtlM

Sort:  

@lifeworship you is very good psicolog,i'm follow you pleas follow me, thanks

Followed. Thank you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13