You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 46 |The Thinking, Emotional & Behaviour Patterns that Characterise Us.

in #psychology6 years ago

The last time i discussed the big five, this was with @jacor about the big five in South Africa (lions, rhinos, buffalos, leopards and elephants). Of course, I know you were not planning to discuss animals. I am however questioning myself about whether there was not a way to connect neuroticism, conscientiousness, openness and the two others to these animals... Actually, it works...

[Sorry for the irrelevant comment.]

Now more seriously, after reading your post, what I don't like much with the model, is that one risks to classify people in boxes. And there are of course many ways to be spread across many boxes. It is often important to go beyond the one-box thing. Of course, you said that we all belong to all boxes to a certain level, But I can imagine that not everybody thinks like that.

For the fun, I am not an agreeable person:

Screen Shot 2018-09-29 at 21.37.02 .png

Sort:  

Hey @lemouth 😃 Thank you so much for taking the time to take part in this 'mini survey'. I am going to have a word with @amavi and check with her which animals would depict best each dimension 😛

I am glad you highlighted the fact that we all fit into each dimension at a higher or lower level! And, you are correct to say that not everyone knows about this. This is precisely one of the goals of this post: to bring this understanding to the wider public.

It is important to keep in mind though, that this is not some sort of diagnosis; but rather, a 'tidy' way of describing overall thinking, emotional and behavior patterns. Which, by the way, change throughout life. For example, it has been found that as we get older we become less extrovert and more agreeable. So, this is not a fixed thing (those days are long gone).

It is true, though, that neuroticism (for example) has become some sort of a label as well as introversion. Psychology is also partially responsible for this. Personally, I am not a big fan of how the Big 5 defines introverts. However, new studies and more recent research are shedding light on these traits in order to raise awareness about their positive aspects :)

I wish you a wonderful week ahead @lemouth

I can imagine the results changing, even on a daily basis. For instance, if i had to redo the test, today, after being exhausted by two full days of work at hime (gardening, storing woods for winter, etc...), I may answer a bunch of questions differently.

Anyways, this was an interesting reading for me. I don't read much about non physics stuff at the moment!

Have a nice week too! I will be heading to Germany in a few hours.

I wish you a safe journey/stay :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27