You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fan Death - A Curious Superstition

in #psychology7 years ago

I believe that in the East it is believed that cold air blowing on the back of your neck, at the acupuncture point know as Wind Gate (fengmen or BL-12), can cause illness. You will see people avoid sitting with AC or a fan blowing on the back of their neck, or they will wear a scarf for protection.

Sort:  

OK that makes sense. Kind of like an energy based idea - I was kind of confused by the mention of wind!

Yes. Here is a pretty exhaustive review of Feng, or Wind, in Chinese Medicine. TLDR: Wind is a pernicious influence on the body, responsible for wind disease.

OK yes I'm sure I have heard of it before - so I think this is more a kind of metaphorical wind that represents the functioning of the body.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64733.60
ETH 3170.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16