You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Cope with Stress? (Part 6) Run and Hide

in #psychology5 years ago (edited)

You are not the only one with a private life interfering destructively with Steem… I really understand you :D

Actually, I really wonder how do you manage - teaching, working on your scientific projects, being a dad, blogging... and speaking French (OK, the latter must not be that difficult for you.. but still - it's French!!!! :P) You must have excellent time management skills ... and sleep deprivation I guess :D

I am often trying to rationalise the situation, but this message does not pass well, most of the time. The super-stressed students are usually too emotion-driven and this is where I am usually lost about what to do, except telling them to try to manage or change their mind to come back stronger.

Yes, it is tougher when emotions are involved. And they are involved in 99% of the cases. It is always easier writing about it than doing it. But one cannot be a teacher, a professor, an examiner, a friend, a psychologist all at once to their students. It is just not possible. I guess you are doing the best thing you can do - be there for them, hear them and show them support, acceptance, and understanding. This is actually so so much. The rest is their own journey and choice.

I have worked in a school, you know :) I taught psychology to 8-11 graders. it was really really cool :D Sometimes I miss the interaction so much :) I guess teaching in the university is different, but still, you get this satisfaction of interacting and forming your students :)

Sort:  

These last days, I had really issues in managing everything. Despite of sleeping very little, Steem was one of the little too many on y plate... I hope things will get better, but my agenda until early April is a disaster... Anyways, I will try to be around and interact as much as I can (says the guy who was Steem-offline for like 2 weeks).

To come back to the topic, even if the job requires people qualified in research and teaching, one ends up doing all the rest as well because of the lack of human resources. So as you said, we listen and do the best as we can. Most of the stories are nevertheless good-ending stories :)

I wish I had professors who cared about me and my accomplishment while I was a student. You have a completely different university culture there! It produces a different kind of mindsets ... and thus different kind of people. We are so far behind you ... a few universes I guess :)

I am struggling lately with Steemit, too. In addition to that spring is coming and one peeks through the window more often wondering if they would have the chance to go outside and have some of that sunshine :D The PC monitor looks more and more unattractive :D

Paris must be very beautiful during the spring. I have been there just once in summer, but they were a few very cold days. All I remember is cold, cold, cold ... and my extremely inappropriate summer clothes and sandals :D Brrr :D

Yeah, spring is definitely coming (for how long is the good question :p). Paris is very nice when the weather decides to be pleasant (this means not too wet, not too hot), which means not too many days in a year (yeah, it is easy to complain ;) ).

More seriously, the city is really nice with beautiful weather. People are smiling more, paying more attention to others, etc... But I guess this may be true in any big city...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25