When advises have the opposite effect - evening thoughts writing

in #psychology6 years ago

Hi, guys!:)

Here I continue my series of posts kind of personal diary in which I share my progress with fighting for my mental health. And today I want to write a few about how people react on them and where it leads my thoughts. 

The first thing to mention here - it's not only on-line world where I explore other people attitude. But here it's more expressed, people feel more free to tell what they think (even if they haven't been asked), so it's more interesting territory for the research. 

By Sarah Andersen

Second thing to mention - my blog is like my on-line home. I share here things that I find important for myself, and not always I expect a reaction. And even more then that - really rare I expect any advises. If I do - I directly ask about them, often both: in the beginning and in the end of the post to make sure that everyone who has something to say about the topic will be able to see it. As, for example, I did it today when I was writing about sources of inspiration earlier.

But when I write about my bipolar disorder I mostly share my observations, I talk about the fact that already happened, and I'm not seeking for any advises. When I say that I'm on medication, and describe the results - I don't expect anyone to tell me about yoga, meditation and believing in some kind of higher power over and over again. I only write a personal diary and I'm happy to hear another persons stories, but I'm not pursue a goal to find someone who will tell me what to do. I hope the difference is obvious. Meaning - "I managed to make my state better with help of meditation" and "You have to try meditation" are completely different phrases. I doubt that it's too hard to understand, but it seems so. 

Why am I fixing so much exactly on meditation here? Cause it's the most popular advice, and it already works with me like a red rag for a bull. May be because it's really a series of posts it's not obvious in all o them that I separate a lot spiritual seeking and real life, but well, what should I do, copy-paste the part of text that tells about it each time? 

When I was still seeking for the solution of my problem (meaning - I yet wasn't diagnosed) I tried. Tried yoga, meditation, all this stuff. More hen that - I still do yoga for my health. But let me tell something more about it. When you meditate you're calm, relaxed, spiritualized. Now imagine a person who is in a state of hysterics 24/7. Can this person meditate? Nope. It's a simple example.

All these "just stop feeling like that"/"just calm down"/"just stop thinking about it" doesn't work when a person has a real problem. Talking about "state of hysterics" I don't mean rolling over the floor and screaming, I mean hard breath, heartbeat, headache, hands tremor, panic attacks and uncontrolled tears. Again, just for example. Can this person meditate? Again - no.

I could write here more, but since English is my second I try to keep one thought for one post, otherwise I get lost in my own text and sense becomes unclear. I hope I made my point here, see you in the next article!:)

In fact when I began this series of posts I thought that most steemians are from other countries, where understanding of mental disorders is different and where people are more "educated" about this. Now I see that I was wrong, it's a worldwide stigma.

I wish you all the best and will be happy if you'll support me with vote:)

Love, Inber

Sort:  

Indeed many people rapidly jump into willing to provide solutions but sometimes the other just needs a place to express his own thoughts and feel listened. I find it great that you express how you feel when everybody shares his "advices" and that you fixed these clear rules (only give advice when explicitly ask) !

I just think it's more polite. Especially when it comes to serious topics. I don't give people with diabetes advises about diet they should follow, cause I know completely nothing about it and can make more harm then benefit (if I did). But for some reason when it comes to mental disorders most people transform to PhD's of medical science...

You know yourself better than anyone you dont need to be told what to do, you could probably advise them. You do what you have to to get through each day :)

I try avoiding giving advises myself, especially if I wasn't asked to. People are different, what is relief for one is poison for another

So vert true :)

A honest account. Indeed people do sometimes try and preach .You need to do what your instinct tell you is best (i'm not preaching there) only you know your body. It can be difficult not to give your own opinion when commenting but I know or me I say what help me in that situation but as I have never been through bipolar, well I have no opinion which you probably glad with. I completely get you point and understand.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17