It's not you. It was never about you.

in #psychology5 years ago

20181015_170257-ANIMATION.gif

We have a tendency to take things personally, which I suppose is only natural for us, as humans. After all, I am who I am, it makes sense that I would assume everything is about me. And besides, we are selfish by nature, so we usually believe that everything is about us, that it revolves around us, when in fact, it does not. There is so little around us that is truly about who we are.

I was talking to someone about this and while I was telling her these things, I realized it's really about myself and I'm sure, about many others. I'm quick to react to things around me and I become certain that anything and everything is about me. You didn't text, it means you hate me. The store clerk didn't return my smile – they must've thought I was awful. You get it.
And it's a very harmful mentality, if you think about it, it means anything can get to you and you shouldn't really allow that. I mean, you should let yourself be touched by people (not in the weird way, you perv :P) and to react to what's around you. But many times, we over-react and to things that have nothing to do with us, which only ends up damaging our health, in the end.

We were talking about an ignored text, me and my friend, and immediately, she assumed it was about her, that the people who hadn't replied did not like her. And standing outside, I was easily able to recognize that it simply wasn't true. It had nothing to do with her, most likely, but rather with those people. With how they thought, what their values were, how they wanted to be perceived by others. Basically, it was about anything but her.
And seeing this, it was easy for me to point it out, to go 'dude, chill, it's probably nothing.'
But here's the thing, most of us aren't so quick to tell when we're the ones making this assumption. I do it all the time, I tend to take things very personally, as I said. The fact that someone doesn't react how you would react or how you'd want them to react is about them and not about you. And yet, we see it as something about us. Because we're insecure and it's quite easy to be convinced that you're the one doing it wrong.

Just look how many unstable, fragile people are out there. It's easy to think you're the problem.

46434303_333601377223074_6324972962705309696_n.jpg

But the truth is there isn't a problem and you need to learn to see that. Because it's all very good when a friend can point this out, when you have someone who sees things clearly. But you need to teach yourself to view things clearly as well, because otherwise, you will get fucked up in the end. I can't know everything, not even as your closest friend, and I can't be there all the time, even if I would like to. And at some point, you get to a critical point where you really need someone to snap you out of your own bullshit and find there's no one around. So, you teach yourself to recognize these situations. You have to learn to say fuck it, this is not about me. Me, me, me. We only think in terms of 'me' and it gets boring after a while.

I'm not usually one to believe in the whole 'don't take it personally' excuse. I normally say 'dude, of course it's personal, we're people, we're by definition personal'.
And besides, so many people use the 'don't take it personally' excuse to just be dicks, you know? They're like, oh this isn't about me, I did nothing wrong. Yeah, you did. You should also learn to recognize when you're being a complete asshole. Just sayin'.

But that doesn't happen all the time. You need to learn to be more self-assured, to know it's not always about you.

You know what is about you? How easily you let someone upset your internal balance. That says something about the way you think and about your value system and it's not something good, either.
Again, we all do it. This is about my friend as much as it is about you and as much as it is about me. Some learn to do it less as they grow older, some don't. You have to make sure you're among those who do.

Thank you for reading,

photojoiner_photo(16).jpeg

Sort:  

As Oscar Wilde said;

"You tend not to worry so much what people think of you, when you realise how little they do."

:-)

Cg

Very true :)) You realize you've been wasting all this time wondering what they think and bam, they weren't even thinking.

Well said.

All of this reading into what people think of you is far worse in the rapid fire age of instant messaging!

I don't worry too much about what people think of me. I just try to be a reasonable human being and act with integrity.

The only time I listen to people criticising me is when I respect them and they're being constructive. Occassionally it's kind of people to point out yr flaws in the right sort of way.

But getting down about an unanswered text... na! Waste of mental energy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly. We have this weird tendency to actually ignore what people do IRL and be more concerned about something they did/didn't do in a chat. It's so dumb.

I just try to be a reasonable human being and act with integrity.

Words to live by.

Your write up hit so close to home. I always thought this way. One day, a close person, dear to my heart, called me selfish. I realized that I always made situations about me and I had to change.

Posted using Partiko iOS

That's just no way to be, you know? If we make everything about us, we end up mentally exhausted, not to mention we have a pretty poor existence. I get it, I do it too sometimes.
I'm glad you relate to what I wrote, that was the point :) that most of us think like this at some point in life.

Don't take it personally, but you're totally wrong. Just kidding. :)

For me the problem is the "assumption", the assumptions are (almost) always bad, they make you focus on things that will never happen, or that you give importance to things that don't have it, or worse, they prevent you from doing what you know you should do, because you suppose that something can go wrong.

Exactly, we set out all these scenarios in our heads and focus more on those than on what is actually happening. It's absurd. :)
Thank you for commenting!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @honeydue! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2750 replies. Your next target is to reach 3000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

We going to be fucked up, no matter what :) Just saying

Posted using Partiko Android

Well, that's quite a grim conclusion, isn't it? :)

Oh well, better fucked up than boring, I suppose.

Thank you so much for the resteems, by the way! Much appreciated <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00