What I fear most from my first horse riding experience

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)
It was 7am in the morning and I have decided to have a brisk walk on the famous batu Ferringhi beach, Penang. Many tourist like to congregate here as it is one of the beautiful beaches in Malaysia. Its a long and clean stretch of beach overlooking the silhoutte of Penang hill at the distance. There are stretch of hotels both rated and budget adjacent to one another. In between you have man made food stalls along the road.

This morning , I had my first horse riding experience. Riding the horse was surprisingly easy,. All I had to do was to balance myself and hold on tight to the rein. The rein is like a steering , directing the horse to way I wanted her to go. For once, I felt like prince charming on a horseback trotting the white sandy beach but no damsel to rescue.

Ahmed the caretaker was there to help me to get the most of the experience. I paid RM50 for a twenty minute ride which include an amateur video shoot from my mobile phone. Prior to making the decision, there was so much bickering in my head. Before I share this, let tell you something about the horse.

IMG20180302080637.jpg

The mare name was Bella and she is 6 years old. She is cared for by Ahmed and she works the beach for any tourist that would like to have a ride just like me. At first I was a little tense as my mind safety mechanism kicks in, unconsciously I was worried that I might fall off. Yes falling off can potentially be life threatening. You could risk spinal injury. Fearfully I remembered my late superman hero actor Christopher Reeves who became paralyse after a fall from his horse.

Going back to the bickering in my head. Do you notice the constant dialogue in your head when you want to make a decision. At first, I ask myself isn't rm50 too expensive but I retaliate with my alternative answer. But this is an experience of a lifetime.

What if I fall and injure myself?
What if don't fall, and I am missing out on a truly amazing experience.

What if the horse run out of control?

The guy is only out to take advantage of me by overcharging me.

Would this be a great story to post?

It takes a second to make a decision but take up so much time with own personal debate. I think we do miss out a lot in life, if we allow our over thinking stop us from doing the things we want to do.

Sometimes overthinking things will tend to paralyse one from doing anything. But nowadays, I told myself, if you want to do anything, stop analysing and just do it anywhere , learn quickly to adapt. Our negativity are our comfort monitoring responder , keeping us from venturing far out. We all have it but our boundary are different , it is base on your personal risk tolerance. Focus on what you need to do to make it happen. Only you, can decide what will happen.

IMG_20180302_141135_029.jpg

I will always treasure this moment. Bella is truly a magnificient creature and I am glad that I did this.

Sort:  

Nice post @diamondray i like it

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

RM50 is quite affordable price besides we are not riding horse everyday. Fear definition is Forget Everything and Run. Overcome it and we will have amazing experience. :D

Thats a good one. Forget everything and run.

I ever ride a horse in Thailand but not in Malaysia. But I believe they are trained and obedient.

Did you know horses are sensitive to human emotions?

Reminds me about the ride. Have to give a good control over the rein. Can’t be too aggressive otherwise will be out of control over the horsie.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28