Psychology: The Difficulty of Examining Negative Behavior Patterns

in #psychology5 years ago

Have you ever found yourself in one of those situations where pointing out to someone that their own toxic behaviors are the cause of the very problems they are constantly suffering under... and it actually makes you the "bad person" in the equation?

I realize that was a very long and rambling sentence...

1067Phlox.jpg

Earlier today, I was having a continuing conversation with a friend who had previously stopped in at our now defunct store during my work time there, and we got to talking about relationships, friendships and the negative cycles that sometimes seem to go on, and on, and on.

I was illustrating some point with an old "funny" comment I sometimes use to illustrate the strange reasoning of difficult people: "Well, the child support check wouldn't have BOUNCED if you hadn't been a jerk and gone off to try cashing it right away!"

Think about that statement, for a moment... and what is really being said. And yes, it's just a metaphor, not an actual current situation.

1067Daisy.jpg

What We Don't Want to Look At...

Our negative habits often fall under the broader headings of "overt" and "covert."

It's usually pretty easy to "own" our overt negative habits "Yeah, I know! I'm ALWAYS late!" because they tend to be "out there" and in people's faces. In the case of the bounced child support check, we rationalize that our paycheck took a couple of extra days in the mail, rather than we simply didn't want to pay.

But our covert bad habits are trickier. We tend to become very reluctant to admit that we are "ALWAYS late" because we are deeply resentful of having to pay attention to someone else's schedule. Or we're resentful that the child support payments keep us from being able to go on vacation.

Well, admitting that would make me sound like a selfish asshole!

Indeed.

But sometimes we just are selfish assholes, and sometimes we fall into patterns and habits that make us precisely that, without actively being aware that we are doing so.

I have had that happen to me a number of times in my life.

1006Sailboat.jpg

Example: Those Unpaid Bills

There was a time in my life when I neither answered the phone nor opened my mail... because I just "knew" that the only reason anyone would be getting in touch with me was to collect money from me.

Of course, that's not a very responsible approach to living. Being perpetually late with bills — sometimes to the point where services would be suspended — is not particularly clever.

But was I really such a slob? Such a useless procrastinator?

Not exactly...

My underlying problem was actually my own unwillingness to step up and admit that I simply wasn't able to earn enough "living" to afford my life. I lacked the life skills and qualifications to get and hold a job well-paid enough to support my ex's and my lifestyle at the time.

Instead, I allowed my passivity to gradually let us fall into bankruptcy. Which took some seven years to extract myself from... All this, because I was not willing to look directly at my own shortcomings.

1067Calendula.jpg

Treating Symptoms vs. Healing Problems

I won't get into what several years of therapy eventually unearthed... suffice it to say that we sometimes learn some really horrible things from ingrained behavior patterns in our family of origin. And we can say that we have "dealt with our childhood issues" to our hearts' content... but those things tend to show up again and again, especially when we are under extreme stress.

In Western medicine and psychology — in particular — we have a tendency to give people "happy pills" for their problems, rather than heal the underlying issues causing those happy pills to become necessary, in the first place.

Metaphorically speaking, it's going to the Doctor and getting pills for our persistent headaches... and whereas the pills get rid of those headaches, we never stop to figure out WHY we get headaches twice a week. We simply "normalize" having headaches, and call the pills the "cure."

I won't get into my personal opinion about the mental health profession... but I do believe that the entire "for profit" system is of dubious merit, as it tends to favor "treatment" (ongoing) over "healing" (permanent).

Regardless, examining our deep-rooted negative behaviors can be a considerable challenge!

Thanks for reading, and have a great weekend!

(Thanks to encouragement from @shadowspub I am taking the #creativecoin tag for a trial run!)

Comments, feedback and other interaction is invited and welcomed! Because — after all — SOCIAL content is about interacting, right? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

PHC Logo

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for this platform.)
Created at 190804 00:42 PST

1067

Sort:  

Wow, there's a LOT of interesting points you make with this post.

First of all, yeah, it happened to me too. I have in mind a couple of friends in particular who always seem to be having the same kind of problems, and always seem to go at them the same way - ignoring the underlying cause in their own behavior. I'm thinking relationships in particular - they tend to hook up with the same kind of girls\dudes regularly, and all of their stories end up the same way, with them in pain or otherwise unsatisfied. Here's the thing though; I realize while trying to show them their own shortcomings that I'm not exempt from the same behavioral pattern, that is to say I always try to solve my problems without changing myself in the process. Or, I go against a problem with my solution, and if it doesn't work, I try again the same way until I give up (or the problem disappears for external reasons). Talking with these people, who seem to have very recognizable patterns, sometime help us to identify the same issues within us, even if they're usually well-hidden.

Secondly, thanks for sharing part of your private life, that's never easy.

Lastly, I share your point of view on our way of intending therapy. The whole thing about the happy pills is something I found myself saying to people I care very much about, who were completely lost when trying to deal with their own anxiety or fear.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Yes, yes I have. Which is why more times than not I just move along and don’t say much. It never seems to end well when I do.

Well researched 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

I notice negative things in me as they happen, but find it hard to stop doing them as they are so ingrained and is one of the reasons I got rid of everything except a small case of clothes and went to live in Thailand for a few years and spent most of that time on my own trying to understand who I was and why I was here...

I have a close family member who seems to be caught in a very vicious cycle of negativity, making it a real challenge to have any dealings with this person. One of those that no matter if you try to be positive and encouraging or hold a mirror up to very overt bad habits, you are the bad guy in the situation. This person continues to try to treat symptoms as they do not want to dig up trauma from the past, even though as you say that could be very helpful in learning how to actually move forward.

I think the medical profession as a whole has a problem with not looking at the root cause. Too profitable to make pills and just treat the symptoms instead of actually finding true healing. Though I do have a few dear friends in the mental health and medical fields who are big exceptions to that rule, but it is tough when the system as a whole is quite broken.

nice work on a difficult subject .. welcome to creativecoin

I recently needed to consider my poor opsec due to pasting my active key accidentally. Honestly, it was a lot easier to suffer the loss of my liquid tokens than acknowledge my responsibility for it.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 209 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88