You're Already Wealthy: Abundance is All Around You

in #psychology6 years ago

It's easy to get caught up in the world of money and finance.

Money, Coins, Finance, Currency, Business, Investment


Yes, money is important in life. Fiat-based government-backed currency is (for now) the universally accepted form of how we do business, and thus acquiring forms of money is critical in achieving a desired level of comfort.

For this reason, it's understandable why the accumulation of money is at the forefront of many people's minds. Dead president paper allows you to buy and do some pretty cool things. I've recently put a stronger emphasis on developing money consciousness to find various ways to create a larger, more diverse stream of income.

While I believe it is every person's right to develop deep cash reserves, the pursuit of wealth in a monetary sense often overlooks one critical component in the equation:

You are likely already wealthy!

Piggy, Bank, Money, Finance, Business, Banking


Yes, your bank account and debt load may say otherwise, but I would wager a bet that you are already wealthy in various areas of your life.

Let's give some perspective on this by defining the word 'wealth'. While a few definitions include material or monetary riches, one definition states that wealth is: a plentiful supply of a particular desirable thing.

Basically, wealth can be defined as having abundance of some form or another in your life. Look around your home right now. If you're in the western world like I am, I'm betting you have a plentiful supply of at least a few desirable things.

While I'm far from where I want to be monetarily, when I look at my large social network I feel a strong sense of gratitude for all of the incredible people in my life. I have tons of people to do any sort of activity I desire.

I have spiritual friends to meditate with, athletic friends to exercise with, funny friends to joke around with, philosophical friends to muse with. I have musician friends to play music with, and a large collection of artistically-minded folks to put together inspiring art and music shows, as I did last weekend (more to come in a future post on that one). And my family, while not perfect, is an overall supportive as well as a non-intrusive part of my life.

Wealth is in the eye of the beholder

Forest, Trees, Perspective, Bright, Green, Beautiful


Yeah, I'm sure we all look at the ambitious and proactive people among us who bought bitcoin for cheap (and held it!), but there are a probably a few ways you've been more proactive than others as a means to having abundance.

Perhaps you're wealthy in terms of underwear. I know I've stocked up on some comfy socks and boxers over the past year, and these days I certainly feel like I'm never devoid of a cosy undergarment to throw on.

Hell, gourmet natural bacon went on sale at Natural Grocers the other month and I stocked up on some for super cheap. It's small, but as a bacon lover, the sight of 5 packages of Niman's Ranch bacon (some of the best damn bacon around, FYI) gave me a sense of wealth on the breakfast side of things.

Money matters, but you can appreciate what you have to feel wealthy without it

Men, Women, Apparel, Woman, Man, Couple, People, Happy


Again, I'm not saying you shouldn't focus on having the lifestyle you desire. If you are living by your principles and values and are making substantial sums of money, I commend you for living the ideal life we all desire.

But it is important to look at all of the other areas of your life that can provide wealth and abundance. To me, the social and spiritual components of life are equally important in terms of happiness, sanity, and feeling wealthy.

If you have a ton of money, but no one to share it with, your happiness will suffer. If you are rich in finance, but poor in spirit, are you truly wealthy? I'd argue you are no more wealthy than any person living paycheck to paycheck that has a thriving social life.

Take a moment to appreciate the wealth that surrounds you. Foster a sense of gratitude for what you have, and you will realize you are already rich in many areas. Leverage your existing wealth and abundance, and your financial wealth will likely increase as well.


All uncredited pictures from the pixabay.com

If you received value from this post, please upvote, follow, and resteem!

Sort:  

Me encanta el articulo, un aporte: Si hacemos lo que realmente amamos y añadido a eso lo mezclamos con el aquí y el ahora combinado con las personas que amamos, creo que ahí ya somos inmensamente ricos. Feliz noche, desde Venezuela, abrazos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14