Conquering Negative Thoughts: Exercise and Positive Evidence

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Negative, discursive thoughts are often a major stumbling block towards making progress with one's self.

Woman, Thoughtfulness, Girl, Beauty


Not to brag, but I've been making serious strides towards my personal growth, and it feels damn good. I've been exercising regularly, I've been eating better (for the most part), and I've reengaged my creative mind through writing and other exciting avenues. Feeling a tangible shift in both my body and mind has been a major encouragement.

Making changes within one's life is often a monumental struggle, a personal battle that can play out in your head repeatedly until a change occurs or you give in to your doubt and relapse back to your former habits and focus.

To suggest that we are often our own worst enemy in the process of self-transformation would be an understatement.

Depression, Man, Anger, Sadness, Jittery


We all carry itty bitty shitty committees in our head. These unelected and unconscious doubting parts of yourself can derail even the best of intentions. How many times have you had a positive revelation, only for that awareness to fade away and be replaced by the old thought pattern?

This is due to the amount of experience our IBSC has in wrecking our lives, tricking us into believing we are less than we are. If you've gotten really good at getting down our yourself, that positive thought will continue to be an aberration and not a new normal, unless you address the self-defeating and destructive thought patterns.

Silencing the Itty Bitty Shitty Committee can be done with persistence, creativity, and a bit of patience.

Overcoming, Victory, Crutch, Crippled, Miracle, Win


I've dealt with a large amount of self-doubt and self-deprecation in my life. In fact, I became an expert at sabotaging myself. It actually became the most comfortable way to operate my life, as backward as that is. On a certain level, I was much more ok with failure because it was familiar and would help feed the IBSC story that I wasn't going anywhere in my life.

Recently, I reached a point where I knew I needed to take a drastic action towards radical change. I knew that the same recipe of habits, focus, and ways of being were in need of repair or replacement. We are largely the result of our habits and what we focus on, which consequently influences our habits (and the cycle continues!).

Utilize Exercise to support your mind, not just your body

People, Woman, Exercise, Fitness, Jogging, Running


Any type of motion will fuel your emotions. Stagnant and inactive bodies fuel stagnant and inefficient mindsets. Cardio workouts and strength-training sessions allow you to not only burn calories and get into shape, it also gives you a terrific opportunity to get into your body! Do not under-estimate the power of consistent workouts, as they improve every facet of your life.

When you're living mostly in your head, the rest of your body suffers. When you're living in your body, especially through the use of physical exertion, your mind is supported!

The release of endorphins and serotonin can lead to feeling happier and even euphoric. The act of exercise will likely lead to increased confidence and can improve brain function and memory. All of these will reduce the power of negative thoughts and allow space for more productive ones.

Give your mind evidence for a positive rebuttal

Adventure, Height Level, Arm, Assistance, Athlete, Boys


Your negative thought mind revels in the opportunity to throw you off course. This is why it is most loud when you are going through periods of uncertainty, change, or difficulty.

In changing job fields recently, my shitty committee took the chance to use the new uncertainty against me. Whereas it had largely remained silent during my previous job, it used the situation to tell me I wasn't a success and generally erode my sense of self-confidence.

Instead of succumbing to this pattern, I decided to exercise, to begin writing more, to seek out opportunities and therapeutic modalities to improve my sense of self. In effect, I was giving my mind positive material that I could use against the negative thought mind. I had a response when the IBSC would tell me how worthless I was.

Me: "Oh yeah? How am I worthless when I just ran 5 miles, wrote a piece on Steemit that paid me well, and obstained from alcohol and grains for 30 days? Clearly I'm a resilient, creative, and healthy person."
IBSC: "Yeah, I guess. But you know it's just a passing fad."
Me: "Hmm, that's funny, I've been practicing these habits for months now."
IBSC: "Damn, I got nothing."

Improve your state, change your habits and your focus, and your positive mind will easily conquer the negative self-talk asshole within

Hammer, Horizontal, Court, Justice, Right, Law


A dreary and relentless pessimistic mind can seem like a very difficult thing to let go of and move beyond, but it isn't as hard as it initially appears. The more evidence you are able to provide to support a positive case in the court of your consciousness, the easier it is to win the decision in favor of self-transformation.

Our saboteurs of the mind are clever and have a major headstart. But their days are numbered when we change our state, shift our focus, and create momentum through evidence-creating activities. Habits that prove our itty bitty shitty committee wrong will inevitably lead to a silent and peaceful mindset, ready to conquer any obstacle.


All uncredited pictures from the pixabay.com

If you received value from this post, please upvote, follow, and resteem!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71