Be Selective with Friendships

in #psychology6 years ago (edited)

Recently, I was talking to my friend who is currently single and she was discussing how hard it is to find a man worth dating. She described all of the bad experiences she was having, and how selective she has been. However, I realized I felt the same about friendships.

Don't get me wrong, I am forever seeing the good in people, but with past experiences, and the ton of information I have learned about human behaviors and psychology, I have became selective in my own ways. I don't make new friends as easily, and I really do not feel bad about it. Sure, I can carry on a conversation with a complete stranger because I am a true extrovert at heart, but it doesn't mean they are going to be my new B.F.F.

I hear so many people discuss how they're introverted and would love to make more friends, and build more lasting friendships. I have seen people make promises or offer gifts to others just hoping to embark on a meaningful friendship. However, a meaningful friendship isn't something that can just be bought. Shoot, many times we think we've found a great confidant, only to see another friendship bite the dust.

What does this sound like? People out there searching for their soulmate, right? Well in reality, if we want more than a superficial relationship with a friend, then we have to be as selective as we would be with our soulmate. Don't settle, or beat yourself up when a friendship doesn't pan out long term. Those meant to last, will last.

beth and i.jpg
(A photo of my soul sister and myself on my birthday last year... my best friend of 18 years) Disclaimer... this is not the friend I was talking about in the first paragraph.

Sort:  

I can relate. I have a friend and we have been friends for 18 years or more. That is the longest friendship I have with someone. The rest are just catching up but I only have few and selected ones, maybe five :D

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

By your posts it seems like you have a lot of friends!

It only looks likes it :D

I know exactly what you mean. In my 49 years, I can count my close friends on one hand. 'Keepers' are hard to come by and find.

Agreed! I think it is hard for those who take it really personal when a friendship doesn't last, but in reality only a few last for most people.

⚡ Good psychology 👍

I like your psychology about making selective friends. I'm also sensitive about making new friends. I think that a man known with his company. I've looked your best friend is beautiful. I think she should take a decision about her life partner after a thinking. She should discuss about her decision with you or with her parents. Thanks for sharing your picture with your selective friend.

I probably should have clarified... my best friend who is in the photo is not the friend that I was talking about that has issues dating. I just used the photo of here because she is what I consider my soul sister... I feel like God brought her into my life.

I can relate to this.
Well articulated

In making friends, we need to be careful.

Tell me your friend and I will tell you who you are.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83