The Beauty In Taking Time For Yourself

in #psychology7 years ago


It's quite easy to get lost in the hectic world we live in. It's easy to fall into the routine of go go go without remembering to take some time for yourself.

I know I have been guilty of this lately. I had to remind myself I needed to slow down, to make time for those around me, to take time to decompress for me. If you don't take time for yourself, you certainly won't have the time or energy to care for those around you.
IMG_7480.JPG
I took my family hiking this weekend, made a picnic basket, found a bed of smooth boulders alongside the river where we could enjoy the art of just being. We talked, ate and sat there quietly as well to listen to the stream flow, caressing algae and tickling fishes bellies as we watched. A friendly king snake even stopped by to see what we were doing but left as quickly as it came. Sometimes it's better to let nature be specially if you are a visitor in their home.

We picked up and went for a hike passing the San Pasqual Indian Burial Ground. Unmarked graves dot earth under the ancient pepper tree. Medicine pouches hang from the crosses which overlook the San Pasqual Battleground.
IMG_7482.PNG
Playing tourist in my hometown alongside nature and those I love is my way of regrouping, rebalancing and nurturing my soul.

How do you like to decompress after a hectic week?
IMG_6732.JPG

Sort:  

Happy Monday! Glad you had such a nice outing with your family 😊

Thank you friend! It was so nice hanging out with them 🎀 Hope you had a lovely weekend 🌹

The sound of the water flowing is so relaxing @artedellavita! I love to decompress by going out and have a walk in the nature.
Oh you saw a king snake too? I'm really scared of them!
Thanks it was friendly!
@progressivechef

I love nature! I harvested some watercress from the rivers edge, so delightful!
Yeah not a fan of snakes so glad it slithered away!

The perfect place to absorb lots of positive energy, looks amazing :)

Just the sound of water is mesmerizing🌱

It is, Its very relaxing to be around :)

I usually walk down to the beach and sit on one of the large rocks. Just focus on the sound of the surf. Often it is at sun set.

I love going to the beach in the mornings to do yoga, I love how the air is so cool and the breeze envelops you🌱

So true friend! Recharging our bodies and minds is necessary if we are to be of use to others. Being out in nature is a great way to clear the mind. So glad you had a outing with your family. I relaxed just reading your post...
Hmmm, My method of decompressing after a long week is to take a drive or wander the property.🐓

So glad you enjoyed the post and it helped you to relax a bit, I sometimes too just take a walk around here or just sit and watch the hens frolic, the dogs chase lizards and the garden sway with the wind, it fills me with so much love I can't hardly explain it!

I like your video of the water moving. Yes, stop moving and rest, then you can enjoy watching the water move.

Yes definitely, happy Monday friend!

Thanks for the inspiration, we live were other people come as tourists yet it's very easy to take our surroundings for granted.

I might need to go watch a sunset tomorrow.

Do it friend! It's truly those free moments that are worth millions that matter most :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17