Sort:  

Okay, I am sorry.

Sorry I came to this post late. Sorry I couldn't resteem or upvote or ... something! It is so good and deserves to have made at least ten times as many dollars. You do a fabulous job of using Bruce Wayne and Batman and entertainment as a way to smooth and sweeten the passage of your message -- very meta, given the larger message of our entertainment mirroring and exaggerating the messages of our reality. Truth, by any other name.

Great job. I will be following you closely from now on.

Thank you very much for your kind words! I am planning on doing more movie/tv analysis - as you noted, it's a more approachable method for bringing the message to people here.

Have a great day & thx for a great comment!

"Call me crazy, but if Bruce Wayne decided to become more like Nikola Tesla and less of a vigilante bat, Ra's al Ghul would have never reached Gotham.

He would have probably died from food poisoning or something. Life is strange that way."

This made me laugh.

Good point. I also think our societies focus on hero is both a mechanism and a result of our desire to escape the reality that we affect the world around us. Hat being said, the Bateman trilogy was an awesome adaptation, probably the only superhero movie I take seriously.

Compared to Nolan's trilogy, I can't even begin to take seriously the new DC movies or Marvel. Although, the new Guardians was a fun movie to watch.

Yeah, they are kind of fun but also kind of kids movies. I'm just not into Hollywood, generally speaking

I'm pretty sure you've seen Christopher Nolan’s Prestige too?

Great post @anarchospace. Enjoy 'this' while it lasts... ;)

Yes, I've seen all of his films (my favorite director) and I'm going to do a post on The Prestige soon:)

I'm enjoying "this" very much, but I think I'm just getting started;-)

Don't stop ;)

Prestige is one of my favorite movies, and of course - interstellar!

Prestige and Inception, along with the Batman trilogy, definitely occupy my top 25 of all time - that's 20% of Nolan in my tops...lol

Upvoted and also resteemed :)

Thank you very much, I appreciate it! :)

Noland is just pure genius. Looking forward to seeing his latest, Dunkirk!

It's his 8th film on IMDB's top 250 of all time, if you can believe that!

Yes, I'm looking forward to Dunkirk too!

Very good post!☺

Was the Joker a product of escalation? If you recall the conversation between Bruce Wayne and Alfred in the Dark Knight, Alfred notes that some men are evil without motivation. As he put it, "Some men just want to watch the world burn."

He makes the Joker sound like an existence without cause, not an inevitable cause of 'escalation'.

Can anything exist without cause? Can people act without motivation?

Bruce Wayne: [while in the underground bat cave] Targeting me won't get their money back. I knew the mob wouldn't go down without a fight, but this is different. They crossed the line.
Alfred Pennyworth: You crossed the line first, sir. You squeezed them, you hammered them to the point of desperation. And in their desperation, they turned to a man they didn't fully understand.
Bruce Wayne: Criminals aren't complicated, Alfred. Just have to figure out what he's after.
Alfred Pennyworth: With respect Master Wayne, perhaps this is a man that you don't fully understand, either. A long time ago, I was in Burma. My friends and I were working for the local government. They were trying to buy the loyalty of tribal leaders by bribing them with precious stones. But their caravans were being raided in a forest north of Rangoon by a bandit. So, we went looking for the stones. But in six months, we never met anybody who traded with him. One day, I saw a child playing with a ruby the size of a tangerine. The bandit had been throwing them away.
Bruce Wayne: So why steal them?
Alfred Pennyworth: Well, because he thought it was good sport. Because some men aren't looking for anything logical, like money. They can't be bought, bullied, reasoned, or negotiated with. Some men just want to watch the world burn.

Even here Alfred makes reference to escalation - the mob turned to the Joker because of Batman and his tactics.

In the end, the Joker even says he doesn't want to kill Batman, the "what would I do without you" line:)

Good point.

I think we're not arguing the same point here, however. What I am addressing is that latter part - Joker's darkness isn't summoned by Batman's light. It is a darkness that exists as a parallel to Batman's unwavering sense of good.

Of course, this pertains to Joker as he exists in the Nolanverse. I actually like the Flashpoint version of Batman and Joker as well, if you're familiar with that. I won't spoil it, in case you haven't gotten a chance to read it.

Joker's darkness isn't summoned by Batman's light

I would ask: What light? A child playing in the sandbox, an artist lost in his painting or a girl on the subway enjoying a great song on her mp3, people in love, a walk in nature...that's light. Batman may have "good intentions" and he may care about people but he is very far from the light.

He even says: "Bats frighten me. It’s time my enemies share my dread."

I don't consider him as the incarnation of light in this story.

I do believe, in the context of this story, it was he that attracted Joker to Gotham.

Are you sure you're a Batman fan? Bruce Wayne's reason for creating The Batman was to wage a psychological war with people like those who killed his parents. He wants them to consider the possible consequences before acting and thus PREVENT crime altogether. Thus he creates The Batman to be a kind of criminal folk-lore boogieman lurking in the dark and watching them.

I'm not saying that Christopher Nolan's Batman is a bad movie series. It's just not a BATMAN movie series. It's more like science fiction that uses the setting to set up metaphors and make commentary about modern ideas. In that genre, the science fiction setting isn't integral to the points being made, only a vehicle for them. It's the same with Nolan's Batman.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65738.35
ETH 2677.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91