You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Psychology Addict # 45 | Discussing Day-to-Day Fear

in #psychology6 years ago

How can a blog be both general and personal? Informative and compassionate? You show us how. I've looked up your website. Generous of you to offer these articles for download because they can help people.

This one hit home. Began to read, of course, and have already discovered a new word, cremnophobia).

I was really interested in your discussion of fear and culture. As you described rapid social changes that outpace genetic evolution, I thought of diet. It is suggested by some that 'gluten intolerance' is really a case of biological evolution not keeping pace with the rapid cultural change that occurred after the Neolithic Revolution.

And as for freedom and fear: in the Middle Ages we didn't have Natan's angst about choosing to call or not call, because so much was decided for us by family and culture. The modern world has given us freedom, but I guess there's a price.

Finally, I love your last line. I have not been able to overcome all my fears, but confronting them has made me stronger person. I may have fears, but I am not vanquished by them.

Thanks for a wonderful blog. A rich resource, as you can tell by the responses. I hope your pre-Christmas rush is for all the good things the season can bring. rainbow.jpg

Sort:  

Yes, diet is a great, great way to illustrate the disparity between the evolution of our biology and environment :)

Four years ago I went through a huge amount of material that specifically covered gluten intolerance, and gave it a go. I went on a gluten free diet for 3 months, and one interesting (coincidental?) improvement I noticed was that on the second month, my hair was falling out wayyy less! That was the only time I managed to go without pizza and cake for that long. Currently, I haven't had gluten for three weeks, but I am already planning to buy some fresh chocolate croissant this week :P

Cremnophobia, huh? Thank you for the curious information! I feel compelled to bring you something back in return: mnemophobia I found this one particularly interesting!

Thank you so much for your constant kindness, motivation and encouraging words my dear friend. They truly make me smile! 😊

I wish you all the best always and forever :*

That's an interesting word. I bet you run into it a lot, as a psychologist. Cremnophobia is my personal challenge, but I never had a word for it before. This is a very specific and unshakable fear. When I was oh so very young, my brothers pushed me off a high cliff. My only hope was to hang onto a vine. I did that, but just barely. I'm OK, as long as I stay away from cliffs. Ha Ha

Gluten free was recommended some time ago by my rheumatologist and it seems to be the better way to go, for me. So many options today, it's easy to avoid gluten. Unless, of course, you want chocolate croissant:)

Thank you for your kind wishes. I wish the best life has to offer for you, also.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 62719.50
ETH 2525.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70