PSA: Do NOT Send SBD/STEEM to Unsolicited Advertisements in Transfer Memos! ( SCAM ALERT )

in #psa6 years ago

Have you had people or "services" send you 0.001 STEEM or SBD and offering to resteem your post or upvote you lately? I know I sure as hell have.. Sadly not all is what it seems with the latest potential scammy money grab going on within our STEEM network!

While it's yet to be proven if these services are legitimate or not ( personally leaning towards not ) it's to be said that scammers may use the irreversible nature of blockchain technology to pull a fast one on unknowing or uneducated users. These services may not be as they claim! It is always a great idea to either ask around or do your own research into ANY service that is sending unsolicited advertisements to your wallet.

Some pictures or examples of potentially fake or scammy services below:

It's to be mentioned that I'm not 100% sure that either the users/services above are scams but my gut instinct is telling me that they likely are. It's not my intention to sh!t upon or slander legitimate businesses on our blockchain and if they do in fact turn out to be honest I'll gladly remove the examples above as to not damage their reputation further... However given the fact that no one seems to know who the operators of these services are... I'd be careful.

"Caveat Emptor"

The phrase above is Latin and roughly translates to "Buyer beware" or "use your educated judgement" and has been around long before modern society. While the STEEM witnesses, users and developers try their best to keep users out of harms way it is up to you at the end of the day to protect yourself from being swindled by doing diligent research and verifying any service being sold to you via memo in your wallet is in fact legitimate.

If you aren't sure check out the #steemitabuse room on steemit.chat... Most of the time one of the knowledgeable helpers will be able to give you a second opinion if you're unable to form a fake or real decision on your own! Take care and don't get your hard earned SBD/STEEM scammed!


VOTE
KLYE
Sort:  

I just "tested" one of these out. I got a message nearly identical to what you posted above. I had zero expectations and decided that the 0.7 SBD was worth the risk. I almost instantly received about 50 upvotes but they were all worth $0.00 but one or two were about $0.003 or so. It might help get your post up to trending maybe? Another thought I had is that a newbie like me could see an increase in rating if those accounts had a higher number than me? I am still not fully sure how that works or what it really represents. I feel that I got my $0.70 SBD worth of research info out of it so do not feel at a loss. Thanks for your informative posts!!!

You're welcome lovely.

Appreciate you doing some research. Will upvote your comment so others can see it..!

Always happy to help :) I love this platform and community and want to help it grow and succeed for all of us who care. Thank you @klye for all you do!

Thanks a lot for the heads up! I've seen them myself, but I've just ignored them. Naive as I am, I figured they were just ordinary spam ads.

Resteemed to pass the word along.

Those are the "good" ones!

YYYeah.... which make a feller wonder what the not-so-good ones are like....

I never even read the memos attached.. I just add their contribution to the #weed fund 😁

hahahahahaa. Well played good sir!

From my experience they usually perform the services as advertised, the question is, is it worth it?

I have never paid heed to any of these useless offers. Resteeming doesn't become profitable even if they claim to have 30k followers. I have more than 3.5k (most of them active users) and but I have not seen my resteems make any significant impact on the payout of the hardworking individuals that I wish to reward.

I would say that treating them as scams would be best for the people because that's what they are.

Hmm..I do receive such frequently and I snob it each time I come across such.
Spam of such sorts appear fraudulent. I wonder why such messages keeps coming, scamming innocent users of their earnings without any service rendered.
Genuine ones might be available though

thank you for this information , usually I do not use such tools,

I agree with you @klye

Thank you for reminding,
Once also can be like that, I check really he has thousands of followers, but the post is not much upvote.

Okay, very useful info
thank you @klye

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02