If you repeat a lie often enough

in #propaganda5 years ago (edited)

... it becomes the truth!
The above quote is often misattributed to Joseph Goebbels, Hitler’s Propaganda Minister, but undoubtedly he would agree to it as he had an extraordinary understanding as to how propaganda works.
I was reading earlier about New York City being the latest American city granting its citizens the right to select X as their sex on birth certificates and identity papers. Not surprising at all, we’ve become accustomed to all the crazy things Americans do. The lies about gender being nothing but a social construct have been repeated so often they ring true. And even if you don’t actually believe, you’ve become so used to hearing such things at a certain point you stop being offended by this obvious perversion of biology.
That goes for adults, but what about children growing up hearing about gender identity and non-binary crap? They’re even less likely to rebel against such nonsense!


Speaking of delusions, please notice the 'Lolita' tattoo on that person's arm

The new law that went into effect on January 1 in New York is of little interest to me here in Eastern Europe. What I find very disturbing is Germany adopting a law allowing intersex people to declare themselves of the third gender in legal documents. Not something that one would expect of the German people, known for its devotion to order and precision. The law is described as offering a decent legal status to people born with both female and male characteristics. If in New York you can declare yourself whatever you want, in Germany you still need a doctor’s note. For now.

Modern propaganda uses the plight of real intersex people - those with both sets of genitalia, to make the law seem necessary and the right thing to do by these people.
The BBC uses the story of an old lady who only found out in later life about her condition and regrets it. I can sympathize with her, but that doesn’t make me more understanding about new gender laws meant to confuse younger generations.

Another bit of propaganda Goebbels would be proud of, also courtesy of the BBC:

“The UN says up to 1.7% of the world's population are born with intersex traits - about the same number of people with red hair”.

The percentage seemed a bit high so I did what most people don’t and followed the link. Not that I have much trust in what the UN has to say, but still...

“According to experts, between 0.05% and 1.7% of the population is born with intersex traits – the upper estimate is similar to the number of red haired people.”

How about the lower estimate? The 0.05% of an obviously lower propagandistic value.
For a country like Germany that means some 40.000 people, that could in some way be affected by having intersex traits - a term that is extremely lax. In UN terms, it could mean anything. (By the way, these quotes come from a document labeled United Nations for LGBT Equality - just so you know.)

‘Intersex is an umbrella term used to describe a wide range of natural bodily variations. In some cases, intersex traits are visible at birth while in others, they are not apparent until puberty. Some chromosomal intersex variations may not be physically apparent at all.’

What bothers me is exactly the last part, those in which the so called chromosomal variations are not physically apparent. Instead, they are all in the mind, as in the minds of impressionable young people struggling with their teenage challenges. Those you can easily convince they’re in fact intersex. I don’t think there’s any doubt we’re going to see a rise in the number of Germans who suddenly discover they’re of the third gender.

Another quote wrongly attributed to Goebbels:

‘The most brilliant propagandist technique will yield no success unless one fundamental principle is borne in mind constantly and with unflagging attention. It must confine itself to a few points and repeat them over and over. Here, as so often in this world, persistence is the first and most important requirement for success.’
That’s from Adolf Hitler’s ‘Mein Kampf’. I’d really love to see some leftist’s reaction to learning Hitler described their preferred methods ages ago!

Thanks for reading

rebeccanew.png

Sort:  

I really like your writing, @ladyrebecca. It was your Chasing Away the Bears that got my attention, and now this very well worded piece!
As for the propaganda part: The way I see it, the best thing that can happen to young thinkers is to be flooded with the most insane propaganda, from left and right, top and bottom, from all directions. The weirder the better. That way they will have no other choice but learn to read between the lines, evaluate even the most serious looking pieces of info, and ultimately think and decide for themselves what they want to believe, and how far. But I have great faith in them to rise above all the insanity and discover their own truth. I think it's just us older folks (sorry, for including you in the 'old' category, what I actually meant is 'older than 12') for whom it's all new and scary.
Back as a kid when adults asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up, I would answer: "a tiger". Of course I wasn't serious about it, which made it such a funny reply. But I have no doubt there ARE some people out there who would actually believe something like this seriously. Maybe some day (soon?) they'll get some legal rights as such too! And why not? As long as they don't go hunting for me, I'm fine with that.

Thanks for visiting my blog! I have often wondered if I'm indeed too old and I'm overreacting. I don't think so or at least I hope so...
I read your post on giving up smoking, which I really should... maybe it would be easier if I had cannabis, but sadly I don't.... For the time being I'm cutting down, which I know it's not much... but going cold turkey is not an option as I don't think I'd be nice to be around for quite a few days.

Resteemed. Nice work 👍

Am afraid we've lost this generation and probably the next to the propaganda train. People for some sort of miracle now

So you mean it's not true that 25% of the population are oppressed trannies?

No, those 25% you've heard of are the mentally challenged...

And even if you don’t actually believe, you’ve become so used to hearing such things at a certain point you stop being offended by this obvious perversion of biology.

Nope, still find it offensive, irritating and profoundly troubling for the future of mankind. That anyone can believe such trash is beyond me. As you say, there are a small (very small) number of people with a real biological issue. But apart from that, biologically there are two genders. Full stop.

How people choose to live their own lives is another matter, and I have no issue with whatever they want to do. But all this fuss is potentially causing a huge problem and that I do mind.

Well, I find it offensive, too - when I stop to think about it. At other times, I just ignore anything related to this subject, I'm like like whatever... and I wonder if this attitude doesn't lead to acceptance?

When I think about it some more, offensive isn't quite the right word, as that implies I'm personally upset by it. I don't care what people do, as long as it doesn't adversely affect other people. But I am very concerned for the people who buy into the bullshit that this is a normal thing.

Anyway, as you say, generally best not to stress about it, since there's not a lot we can do.

The world is going (gone) mad. Fast forward another ten years and what will it look like then? Another 50? I'll be gone by then thankfully.

Posted using Partiko Android

you can compare that with a lot of lies that are told in media and from politics.

the more often they are told the more they become truth.

9/11....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25