You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Fresh Five for December 28(29?) - New Steemians you should get to know!

in #promo-steem7 years ago

You're a rockhound o.O I collect rocks but have no idea what any of mine are :D Jst choose them by how they look.
I've thought of catergorizing them sometime though. Any specific rock guide you would reccomend?

Sort:  

This is how my son collects rocks as well! hahaha. He LOVES those little bags of silt with semi-precious stones you can buy at most roadside attractions. And he adds in random rocks he finds at school, in the neighborhood, or anywhere else he sees a "cool rock". most of it is useless limestone I am sure, but he LOOOOOVVVEEESSS his rocks, so we can't get rid of any of them.

Are you insinuating that my rocks are useless limestone!? I'm tempted to write a post with pictures just to prove you wrong!

Seriously though, I actually started that way over 6 years ago. Just picking up rocks in parks. Since then I've weeded out any rocks that are to common or that I can break in my hands ('cause rocks are supposed to be strong, right?). I even weeded out an aged eraser that had been in my collection for over 3 years (it did look like a rock :P). I might actually post some picture some time so others can do all the work of identifying my rocks.

I can help identify and reccomend this book. There is a ton of information and you can always look online.

https://www.amazon.com/Field-Guide-Minerals-Peterson-Guides/dp/039591096X

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66181.33
ETH 2700.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.88