Steem, Steemit, Dtube | Spreading The Word To YouTubers

in #promo-steem6 years ago

London YouTubers' Meetup In Camden

Introducing Steem, DTube, DLive and Steemit to YouTubers


CAMDEN.png


Waiting for the crew

It was one of the warmest days so far this year in London. It wasn't sunny per se, but it was bright. In fact, it was the perfect light for photography - soft beautiful light. Sunlight, diffused by a thin overcast of clouds and haze, makes for the most beautiful photography light there is.

The meeting was in the afternoon, but I took advantage of the good light and pleasant temperature and headed out a couple of hours early.

Coffee and photography

There are two Starbucks shops in London that I really love. One is at St. Katharine Docks, and the other is at Camden Lock.

1.jpg

I'm not really a Starbucks guy - I usually prefer bespoke cafés - but this particular one was there, and I like the building. I decided to brave the cigarette smoke and sit outdoors for a change. It's really hard to find a smoke-free outdoor sitting area in London. Even if there are no smoking signs, people smoke there anyway.

Smokers, if you're reading this, you need to change your ways.

I was rocking my very old and only DSLR - the Canon 350D. I bought it over a decade ago and have used it since. It doesn't do video, nor does it have image preview on the LCD. You have to compose via the viewfinder like a film camera. I was also rocking a 24mm f2.8 prime lens for the first time ever on this camera. I'd previously only used the kit lens (16-55mm), a 50mm prime and a telephoto zoom with the body.

Since it's a crop sensor, the 24mm is close to 35mm focal length in full frame terms. 🤓

Anyway, technical speak aside, I really enjoyed the lens. I didn't actually take that many photos, probably due to habit. Since I usually use film cameras, I am quite picky with my shots. Each shot costs money see.

IMG_1037.jpg

2.jpg

IMG_1074.jpg

I ventured away from the crowded market streets into the backstreets. I quite enjoyed all the fresh graffiti - I actually saw a few artists in action, but I didn't take any photos of them. I wasn't sure if they'd appreciate it or not.

Being spring time, the cherry trees are blossoming, creating a very interesting mix of harsh urban architecture and delicate vegetation.

Of course, like anyone with a camera, I took several shots of the reflections in the canal. At that point I found myself sitting down for a while to take in the beautiful views. Camden is very crowded, especially on Saturdays, but there was something calmimg about the water.

IMG_1072.jpg

IMG_1070.jpg

IMG_1052.jpg

IMG_1045.jpg


YouTubers, Steem, DTube, Dlive, Steemit, and more coffee


IMG_1084.jpg

WTH is "Steem"?

We meet up every fortnight, but there are always new faces, so there are always new people to strike up the same conversation with. Inevitably, I always end up talking about DTube, Steemit and consequently Steem.

Most people have heard of Bitcoin by now I find, or even the concept of crypto currency. To date, however, I have never come across anyone at our meetings that had heard about Steem, or DTube for that matter. There is a lot of work to be done in terms of getting the word out. Yes, people like me can spread the word by mouth, but as I always say, corporate and devs need to put in more effort.

IMG_1088.jpg

4.jpg

IMG_1090.jpg

IMG_1097.jpg

It's an awesome bunch of people really and I always enjoy our meetups. Not only because we all learn a whole lot off each other regarding creativity and video ideas, there's also opportunity for collaborations. There are musicians, photographers, actors, comedians, e.t.c., so we can often share resources and help each other grow.

My favourite part usually comes at the end, when we're either at a pub, or café. This time we were outdoors in the fantastic weather. I found myself seizing the opportunity to practice my portraiture with willing participants. I'm not really that apt at taking photos of people.

Get this; when I'm behind the lens, I am very social. I can talk to anyone, and I often do. Shoutout to these incredible personalities I met on the day.

5.jpg

Camera: Canon 350D
Lens: Canon EF 24mm F2.8


🎧 Special shoutout to Darren J. Benjamin - Check out his channel if you want Royalty Free music for your YouTube or DTube videos. You can monetise your content with no hassle.

Banner.jpg

Peace and Love ✌🏿
Adé

All copy and photos are original content by me.
© adetorrent.com

Sort:  

Great story and some really beautiful shots. I prefer the water reflections with the white and orange building but also some of the portraits.
I’m sorry to hear that smokers don’t care much about non-smokers in London. I can’t understand how you can smoke at a place where it’s prohibited. But I guess it’s in the nature of Germans that they are more willing to follow the law^^
Even as a smoker I can’t stand it sitting outside in summer and having dinner while people the next table are smoking. It’s disgusting!

Thanks for the feedback 🙏🏿
Yeah British people are very defiant. If you say don't do this, that's what we'll do. Areas with "No Smoking" signs are often covered with stubs 😂 I think it's just cultural.

I like Camden too, even though it's always super busy. Was the dude in the thong part of the meet up?

Lol. No. That's "Tandoori Dick" :)

Shame. I'd check out his blog if he was on here.

I was in Camden on Jan but the weather was bad that day, keep on raining. Good to hear that it sunny day.

The rain is back now 😭

Jheeez come on bro I like that! Keep it up my guy!🤙🏾

Thanks for the support bro ✌🏿

I miss so much Camden Town. I probably will revisit it in the summer. Hopefully I would be able to catch you as well.
PS: I'm not sure, but, are you already with us on #onelovedtube discord channel?If not, you are more then welcome to join us https://discord.gg/T7nxjV5

Camden is really nice. Good food too ✌🏿
I'm not part of onelovedtube even though I've heard about it, thanks.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=adetorrent
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=steem-steemit-dtube-or-spreading-the-word-to-youtubers


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Great story and some really beautiful shots. I prefer the water reflections with the white and orange building but also some of the portraits.
I’m sorry to hear that smokers don’t care much about non-smokers in London. I can’t understand how you can smoke at a place where it’s prohibited. But I guess it’s in the nature of Germans that they are more willing to follow the law^^
Even as a smoker I can’t stand it sitting outside in summer and having dinner while people the next table are smoking. It’s disgusting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59101.88
ETH 2521.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47