Creating gifs from videos in Python

in #programming7 years ago (edited)

I wanted to convert a screen capture video to .gif for my witness update post, and I couldn't find any good, easy to use software to do that.
Using ffmpeg by hand is a bit painful, but fortunately there is a beautiful Python library MoviePy that provides an awesome abstraction layer on top of ffmpeg, ImageMagick, etc.

It took just a few lines of code. I've been able to lower the resolution, and speed up the video 2x in a single line of code. Another line to export to .gif and were done.

I've decided to make a quick video walk-trough of the process. Enjoy.

python-logo-master-flat-symbolonly.png

Sort:  

Yes 🐍 🤘

Nice information I might use this for some posts in the future :)

Great video :) Thanks :)

Another reason to learn the language.

Cool. What do you use to capture the screen itself? Can moviepy do that?

I used OBS. There is one screen capture program I know that is in python.

Quality, cheers for this!

Id like to see more of these videos.

why refuse payout ?

I've made a pledge to do so, when I became a witness.

:) thank you for staying true to it, any news on the steemq :)

yes,,
Good Luck.!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85