Filaments...of all sorts

in #printing3d6 years ago (edited)

Before I start, I'm kind of newbie when it comes to 3D printing. Got my first Anet A8 about 2 months ago and still learning every day.

One thing I learnt. There are all kind of filaments available, mainly PLA, ABS, PETG and others.

You can buy these for reasonable prices at Aliexpress, Lazada, or any of the Chinese online retailers.

What you usually do not know are the criteria on how to use these filaments, and descriptions on stickers are sometimes misleading. I for instance have a roll of ABS that states printing temperatures from 190...210C. This is way too low and was probably copied from a PLA roll.

So, there is only one solution. You need to print a heat tower with different temperatures per layer. I do not describe it here in detail, as this largely depends on your slicer software and settings. But here are 2 of my favorite test objects that do not waste a lot of material and usually give me good info on the filament:

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1548697

https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2318636

You should do this with every new roll of filament.

Cheers.

Sort:  

Congratulations @madmac! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - The results, the winners and the prizes

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14