Prince4Ever! He Will Never Be Forgotten! Paisley Park Opened Archives For Us

in #prince4ever7 years ago (edited)

I miss Prince very much! First I didn't want to write about him, as so many others probably already did but I changed my mind because I got my personal attachment to another one of the most influential artists of my youth, The 80's and all time. 

The very first concert I experienced in Vienna on 29th May, 1987, followed by the best ever after-hour party I have shaked my bootie at. I went to quite a few. It all happened at a small but legendary club called U4. 

I was hooked forever.

A huge hype was going around in the city and the secret was out but nobody could imagine. Prince will do a show after his concert. I believed it, rushed over as fast as I could and was lucky enough to get inside the club just on time, thanks to Connie.

Real groupie, lets say true fan moments once again. Yeah, so much fun, those rock n roll days. I had some chats with a few band members later that night and Prince was hanging around in a small distance. Don't forget, I was active in the music biz :) 

Prince at U4 1987, Off The Records  

"Things start off very well, and the landscape for the recording is set. A loud boisterous crowd, a scratchy recording, and then some fantastic music. The venue sounds small, on the recording at least, and we have plenty of audience talk quite clearly and frustratingly on the recording. Housequake starts us off, with just the drum beat for the first minute or so. It’s heightens the sense of anticipation, and I do like just hearing the beat run for some time. Prince teases the start a couple of times, but we never jump right into the song, instead it’s a slow burning groove. It’s played as a jam, rather than what we are accustomed to on record, and that works well for me, especially with the horns adding their weight to it. Later in the song is a highlight with the horns all sort of interesting lines, and it’s probably a blessing that I can’t understand the audience chat so I can listen past it to the music." Please read the whole review : Source by Hamish

Watch the Video to see Prince's Archives

This blue Fender is one of the guitars Prince played at the 2007 Super Bowl halftime show. It wound up waterlogged. CreditAckerman + Gruber for The New York Times

There are over 7,000 objects, 120 guitars, 2,000 pairs shoes and zero pairs of flats. Angie Marchese has been working at Paisley Park to catalog and preserve the objects that belonged to Prince, who died April 21, 2016. By SHANE O’NEILL and JESSE ROESLER on  Published April 20, 2017. Photo by Shane O'Neill. Watch in Times Video »
 
Image Source
One thing you won’t find in the archives: leisure wear. “Prince didn’t seem to have any at-home wear,” Ms. Marchese said. “Prince was always Prince.” Once each piece of clothing — or whatever else — has been photographed, identified and entered into a computer database, with each detail painstakingly recorded, it is wrapped in acid-free tissue and given its own acid-free box. - Source New York Times


I am surprised that I only noticed a few short articles on steemit but I realised for quite some time that wonderful music related articles do not get their well deserved up-votes. I wonder why. Thanks to @fleur for marking the one year anniversary of Prince's death - RIP! 

I really find this photo so sweet!


 

Image Source GQ Magazin


I discovered this image on a Facebook Page I like, dedicated to the superstar who's music will live on.  


The Sign O The Times shows were on my to do list for most European cities ( Yes I was that crazy) and all of those beautiful nights blew me away! 



Paisley Park Studios, Soundstage, Minneapolis, USA, December 31, 1987

Prince / Miles Davis ( Read my story) 

Tracklist:
Hot Thing
If I Was Your Girlfriend
Let's Go Crazy / Land Of 1000 Dances
When Doves Cry
Purple Rain / Ault Lang Syne


1999
U Got The Look
It's Gonna Be A Beautiful Night


I can't remember how I ended up in backstage but I met his guitarist, an Asian damn sexy dude who invited me for the upcoming show in Frankfurt. I was there, some privat after show party playing black jack in one of the rooms. Prince walked up and played a round as well. Cool moment! He was so tiny that he could barely reach my shoulders. My high heels a bit higher than his I guess :)

Sweet and charming, bit shy guy but a fun gambler to watch!  


Image Source

Tributes are still pouring in

I remember reading all tributes after hearing about his death and Dj Premier's mix on repeat. I was truly in shock he was really gone, my favourite tracks compiled were playing in my iTunes for weeks. Today I dedicate my personal "princesunday" and play my favourite tracks or watch some of his live shows again.

You can listen to A Tribute Mix from April 2016 by Dj Premier! 

“I want to salute one of the greatest artists in the world, the artist  known as Prince. The guideline that shaped me musically consists of  approximately ten people, James Brown, Michael Jackson and Prince are  all equally my number ones; it’s a three way tie. Because of Prince, I  will take any dare and survive the dare! My manager Ian threw the idea  (for the tribute mix) at me late last night and I said let’s do it; so  we plugged in and did it (real DJ’s do real things)! I should’ve done  three hours instead of one. It was unscripted and unrehearsed, but the  outcome obviously touched my soul and I hope it does the same for you. Rest In Purple Prince! " by DJ Premier (another one I respect highly - RIP GURU - Listen full album Jazzmatazz

Image Source 


Shauna Scott : Never thought I'd been attracted to a man shorter, prettier with better hair and who could wear heels better than me. Prince confuses the hell out of me but I can't stop watching him.

Image Source IstyleUp


Here is my digital will for my cremation when its time to leave this earth to the other side of the rainbow bridge behind the moon around the stars, please play this and Little Wing by Jimi Hendrix for me (I am fine, just saying!) 



For You ....Prince Rogers Nelson (June 7, 1958 - April 21, 2016)

Image Source and my little tribute for a star !


Yours 

Mammasitta, passionate about quality sounds !

      

This was funny me :) in those 80's, cut out jeans ? Do you really think we didn't have those? 

Sort:  

Es la historia de una gran leyenda de la música PRINCE.
"A pesar de todo, nadie puede dictaminar quién eres realmente"

Grazias for your feedback ! Its music History ! I just followed you and might have to learn your beautiful language

Gracias a ti @mammasitta. Estoy a tu disposición para lo que quieras saber sobre el español.

Enjoyed your post. What a performer! Never to be duplicated. True genius has it's demons. God rest his soul.

Thanks for taking your time to comment here . I did not know what songs to choose among so many fantastic ones but the one of Miles Davis at Baisley park touched me so much. It's one of those sounds I would want for my cremation conquering my demons forever 🙀 🙌 He was a genius!
This one :


I just put a part of my digital will on the blockchain ! How cool is that

Super post! I really respect Prince, although this came a bit later than the times he was most popular in the 80s. Maybe this had to do a little with my age back than, just between primary and secondary school in. I found him always a little over the top in his singing as well as in his music videos. But! He was absolutely a GREAT artist! In all aspects!

Have you ever seen him live ? I said the same before this first time experience. I put a link below but you tube can't give me those goosepumps I had from the first second he got in stage . He was a persuader and genius . Period :)
What about those https://steemit.com/radiosteem/@mammasitta/hallelujah-something-about-nick-cave-and-leonard-cohen-we-no-who-u-r-push-the-sky-away

I never saw/heard Prince/Symbol lice indeed; But as said, I do respect him and actually I do not only appreciate his music, but also really like it. But I guess that came to me more in the 90s.

Leonard Cohen: Super. Nick Cave: Excellent!

Yes... Mamma, he is a great musician ! :)

And musical poet and magician of the 80's and way beyond....

Thanks for sharing your own experiences of the Purple One. So hard to believe he is gone even now.

Thank you for passing by here.
People get quickly over loss. It's a bit harder for me to accept more and more awesome people, artists are gone and more AI's will replace anything sooner than later. Good memories, happy, free and more human days back then.
Damn I speak like my own grandmother haha

Excellent post! I like your work

I like your work as well

RS and UPVOTED great post!

Thank you so so much 🌺 Just writing a little piece of music history for the blockchain

I should have tagged it #itsmylife @neoxian or what would you suggest !?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28