You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Thirty Day SHTF Test Diet: Results And Conclusions

in #prepping6 years ago

Good for you! With my "regular" stored food, I've latched onto similar food so as to save costs. For example, I've stocked up this past month using off-inventory sales.

One way of eating cheap - provided that multivitamins are part of the diet - is to see cheap staples like flour, rice, ramen, and so on as "base" foods and the rest as "ingredient" materials. I'm starting to knock around with a rice cooker to see what I can do with it.

One thing I found is that you can use it for macaroni (not very well,but serviceably if you don't mind the taste of some "browned" macaroni) and you can also use a single slice of cheese on top (processed "Swiss" in my case), pop it in the microwave for 30 sec., and get home-brew mac and cheese. Not as good as the processed stuff - for one, the cheese coating is thin - but serviceable.

The same trick works for rice & cheese, although one slice doesn't provide enough "cover." This one's a work in progress. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73