Supermarket closed? No worries mate...

in #prepping6 years ago

Have you ever had to provide your own food to keep yourself fed? OK, I assume most people will be able to answer yes to that question however I call bullshit. When I say provide your own food I don't mean that you've braved the car park and long lines at the checkout to find some gluten-free vegan facon and salt-free, fat-free, nut-free, taste-free, non-dairy, non-corn corn chips...I mean have you ever provided your own food!

Doing so is a little more complicated than parking your SUV (that has never seen the other side of the city limits) at the local Tesco, Coles or Woolworths supermarket. It takes effort, skill and ability. I've done it, many times, and I've also gone hungry due to not locating something suitable to eat. It's not pleasant, going hungry I mean. I've eaten roots, foliage, yabbies, fish, duck, rabbits, goat, kangaroos pigs and venison (deer) that I have sourced myself through effort, skill and (probably on occasions) a degree of luck.

You might ask under what circumstances I found myself having to provide my own food; A valid question I guess. It's a simple answer though:

Under circumstances in which I placed myself.

You see, having the ability to source my own food seemed important to me a long time ago; Important enough to learn how to find edible food, gather, capture and kill it then prepare it. I'm good at it too. Maybe not quite Bear Grylls good but good enough that I probably wouldn't starve. Why would I want this skill you may ask. Why, when I could simply head down to the local supermarket where food is made and purchase something to eat? Well yes, of course I could do that, and I do...But what if I couldn't? What if there was a natural disaster or I was stranded in the outback due to a vehicle breakdown. Maybe I'm on a boat that gets shipwrecked or a plane that has to land in the middle of nowhere...There's many reasons why I might need to find my own food. You too in fact. It happens you know, improbable stuff happens.

I've learned how to stalk an animal. They all require different skills, a goat, deer or pig for instance have different characteristics and habits. I've also needed to understand how to set traps and snares and to have the correct equipment with me to do the job. It's not only about animals either as knowing what plants to eat can be critical. This is probably my weakest skill however I'm building it slowly.

Once the food has been sourced obviously it needs to be prepared which, with animals requires, field dressing and eventual preparation for cooking. Getting this part wrong means going hungry. It's not the most pleasant thing to do however over time it gets easier and if it's a choice of going hungry or cutting up an animal most people would choose the latter I think. Well, vegans and vegetarian's probably wouldn't and would have to accept the consequences. Or I suppose they could make the choice to change their eating habits and enjoy some goat, kangaroo or yabby stew.

One of my favourite thing is to collect yabbies. This requires a dam, creek or river to be present of course. It's pretty simple to do really. Just bait the yabby net and throw it in. The conditions need to be right of course but generally a couple of hours later you'll have a net full of the tasty little fresh water crustaceans. Let them sit in clear fresh water for a while which exits the muddiness from within and then boil them in some salted water and you're done. I made yabby sandwiches once which went down quite well. Sure, I'm not going to win any Michelin Stars for the recipe but it kept me from going hungry.

Another was a goat stew which we first made on a hunting trip around the year 2000. I'm not a big fan of goat so we made sure we masked it well. We threw onions, potatoes, carrots, garlic and chicken soup stock into a pot on the fire and then the chunks of seared goat meat which we pre-rubbed with salt, garlic and pepper. We stewed that up for about as long as it took for us to think it was ready and then served it up with some damper (bread) we'd made earlier that day. Again, not the best meal I have ever had but I've paid for worse meals for sure!

I find it enjoyable to challenge myself in many different aspects: Work, physically, emotionally and mentally and to build new skills and challenge myself in hostile and harsh environments is something I really enjoy. Do I think I could survive in the outback with nothing more than a knife and compass? Hmm, I'm not so sure...But I know that on those occasions when I find myself in the outback I'm prepared for most of what the environment can throw at me. I can navigate in several different ways, know first aid, can shoot well, build shelter and make fire...I know bushcraft, survival techniques and, of course, can feed myself and those with me.

I know that having the need to source your own food sounds far-fetched and improbable, maybe even more improbable than an earthquake, tsunami, volcanic eruption, terrorist attack, shipwreck, plane crash, getting lost in the wilderness, civil unrest and war...All highly unlikely things that have never happened right? Wrong. So, so wrong. Be like Bear Grylls mate, and be prepared. Or not...Your choice.

Sort:  

Caracas is full of people who got an Xbox for Christmas last year, and ate their cat a month ago.
Things can turn around really quick.

Yes, the modern world has a way of turning on itself.

Interesante propuesta @galenkp, me hiciste recordar tiempos de la infancia cuando salía de cacería con mi padre…

I don't know what this means. Thanks for reading and commenting though.

Dude, there are some really long checkout lines sometimes...I mean, not to brag, but I've braved a few of those :P

But all joke aside, I'd say it's very important to know how to hunt and prepare your your own food. Not that I've ever done it and I'm really not sure how I'd be at it (probably awful, I doubt I could bring myself to do it) - we're talking about doing it voluntarily, of course. In demanding circumstances, you do what must be done.
You know, I often think that if the apocalypse was to strike tomorrow, we'd all be pretty screwed, well, most anyway. But then I figure maybe that's not true. Need is an excellent teacher, so I think it really depends on resolve, resilience and other things beginning with 'r'. :D
I agree that you can be prepared and often more prepared than some - the unprepared ones will definitely get eaten/killed whatever (probably both). I just think that if the need arose, there would be a fair few who'd learn.

It's good to be prepared though, I really admire that :)

Preparedness brings confidence, confidence brings clarity of thought. In difficult, or emergency, situations it's often panic that causes the most grief. Panic can freeze a person when action is required.

People panic when they lack skills and confidence. Being prepared makes me feel more capable and valid as a man and certainly more able to react appropriately in a crisis.

You seem quite good at assessing yourself psychologically, you know, identifying how you think and why you think certain things. That's something very, very good as few can. :)

Thank you. I haven't always been so good at it and probably have a lot more to learn about myself, and others, as well. It's important to feel comfortable within one's own skin (and noggin) alhtough many do not. ( me included sometimes).

You look like a brave hunter :D Well I didnt hunt anything yet. The only things I provided were eggs from my grandma's chickens and chickpeas or peas that I planted. I am too weak to hunt. I will start crying if I have to kill a rabbit lol

Yes, many people couldn't provide their own food and yet are happy to eat the food others provide without a thought. I've even had people denigrate me for hunting...Whilst they tuck into a meal of bacon and eggs or a steak.

There may come a time when they may regret their lack of skills. Judgement doesn't put food in the belly.

Thanks for reading and commenting.

Never heard of a Yabbie. Is that like a Crayfish or Crawdad? Can you post a pic of one? Would love to see what this is.
K

If you click on the yabbies link in paragraph two all your questions will be answered.

Thanks for scanning over my post and your question.

Ah yes, didn't notice that was a link on the first go-round. Just like our Crayfish over here. YUM! I love 'em, we used to pull them from the creeks and lakes over here as kids and fry them up in butter. Just like little lobsters!

People would pay money for it...I get them for free...

Legit bush food. I've even caught them on the end if some string when I didn't have a net...Whatever works.

Lived in the city all my life so I know that in any sort of apocalypse or disaster I'll starve to death.

Honesty is refreshing. :)

Let's hope it doesn't ever come to that though.

Nice picture. You definitely look prepared. I'd buy whatever survival gear you could sell with that picture. Ha ha.

I used to be a lot better at being prepared to survive in the wild. I've gotten soft over the years, but maybe it's time to get back out there and make it happen. I don't know if I'll just wander into the wild with nothing, but I'd still like to learn and re-learn the skills I would need to survive if there isn't other food available.

It's amazing how a person can progress from unprepared to more prepared with just a little effort and with preparedness comes confidence, which of course, feeds itself. I've said it before: Preparedness doesn't necessarily mean a fallout bunker, pit traps, spider holes and an arsenal of weaponry although it can...It means understanding how to react in a given situation, having the equipment or skills to do so and, just as importantly, how to possibly prevent it in the first place.

Preparedness doesn't necessarily mean a fallout bunker, pit traps, spider holes and an arsenal of weaponry

WHAT?! Since when do you NOT need those things to be prepared? Ha ha

I think you actually summed it all up in what you said, so aside from the sarcastic comment above, that's all I'll say. :)

Well, those things are important...But so are the others. :)

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I'll pass.

lol the hell is that..

I need to get out hunting this year. First time.

Sounds legit. You have a good knowledge of growing things obviously, add in some hunting and trapping and at least you and I would be ok in a crisis.

I havent done any posts on it.. but I have trapped some critters this year to protect the crops lol... But perhaps some woodcraft snares and traps of that "wild" nature would be excellent knowledge.

Your experience is invaluable.

I'm with you on goat, not the best flavour, especially wild ones!

I'm more of a farmer than a hunter myself, so I've not gone past prepping chickens and quail. It's not something I ever enjoy doing, but I'd rather know that their life and death weren't a torment. It's been good learning more about recognising edible weeds and bushfoods. They aren't always the tastiest, but at least the knowledge is there if you need it.

I don't think sourcing our own food is very far fetched, especially in the environment as it is at the moment, just like Matt says. How many countries have had economic collapses in recent years?

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.222 which ranks you at #2743 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 69 places in the last three days (old rank 2812).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 256 contributions, your post is ranked at #37.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66598.01
ETH 3236.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66