Counting Silver

in #preparation6 years ago

Recent events have sparked personal anxiety. I spent some time yesterday assembling my silver stack for an inventory. I have never kept an accurate inventory, so an occasional count is required. a1drjohnthumb.JPG

Unfortunately, the size of my stack was less than I would have guessed. The good news is prices remain low, but the bad news is I am currently cash poor. I lack fiat dollars to buy more silver.

The bottom line question is how much is enough? This question is impossible for me to answer. I have no idea how an economic reset will play out or how long it will take.

These questions have disrupted my sleep. Color me foolish!

There are active hurricanes approaching the USA. These could qualify as an ‘act of god’ trigger to start a global economic collapse.

My perception of the global system is that of a flimsy house of cards. Any disturbance can knock it down.

Back to my silver... it is the foundation of my economic well-being. I suspect it must be enough since few alternatives exist, but I hoped for more. Perhaps the future will allow me a little more time.

Here is today’s beauty.

7826E5F8-2B5A-4DAE-9C2E-34524C0C13EF.jpeg

Sort:  

perhaps if you think that most people in the world have zero silver, gold crypto etc, perhaps less is needed than it looks at the moment. Even if there are some with vast holdings, you are holding some of a very scarce resource.

seductive silver, a solid choice. i wonder what gives anything value. gold, silver, paper... in a real collapse i guess your rich if you have lots of chickens. though harder to hide under the mattress

Talking about the hurricanes, I learnt about it in the news today. Hurricane Florence if I'm not mistaken, I hope everyone gets disaster ready. It may be called 'act of God ' but in truth, humans have contributed s much thru climate change.

Thanks for today's beauty.

image.png

well done.. you have done far better than I have.

Just a reminder you are must likely one of the few who have silver. My guess is if 10% of the people in the US have some silver and or gold that is a lot.

Hi @doctorjohn!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.603 which ranks you at #5594 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 5597).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 487 contributions, your post is ranked at #108.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94