ULOG #22 - Wood Storks

Wood Storks

We're having a bit of a cold snap here in Florida. Temperatures today are about 20 degrees cooler than they were two days ago. The chill seems to have brought in a flock of Wood Storks to our campground. I spotted them this morning when walking the dogs. It's the first time that I've seen them here.

Wood Storks are large white birds similar in size to Great Egrets. They are on the state and federal endangered species list.

Storks_2.jpg
f/5.6 1/400 sec ISO 125

Storks_1.jpg
f/5.6 1/500 sec ISO 160

Storks_3.jpg
f/5.6 1/500 sec ISO 250

Storks_4.jpg
f/5.6 1/500 sec ISO 160

Storks_5.jpg
f/5.6 1/500 sec ISO 320

Storks_6.jpg
f/5.6 1/500 sec ISO 160

Category animalphotography
Settings Various
Camera Canon 60D
Lens Canon EF 70-300mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Location Mims, Florida


Div_1.png

All photos, images and text in my posts are my original work.

Please visit my galleries for prints and products
of my photos and artwork on the following sites:

Society6
Fine Art America

Follow me on Facebook
and on WEKU

Enjoy!

Roger


Div_2_Paws.png

PHC-Footer-05.gif









Asapers.gif

Sort:  

Lovely to see what a Wood Stork looks similar to our Sacred Ibis, stunning photography Roger.

Thanks for sharing the great outdoors.

Thank you for your comments Joan! Storks here are quite a bit larger than the Isis here. I'm not familiar with the Sacred Ibis.

very special to me. thank you for continuing on #ulog

Please permit a little side-note:
Thank you for attempting to ulog today and for sticking around with us, whether bulls or bears.
We will soon resume full-blown activities especially as ulogs.org begin to take full shape and with the birth of the teardrops SMT. There will be ulog-cats and all. ulog-subtags to bear forth ulog-communities.

Please participate in this form; 'https://goo.gl/forms/7NxDYt4HX5GAgkae2' if you haven't. it is a short form and mostly requires your best email. It is time to gather now. Please share the form as well to any steemian you know of #ulog or those who may know of (@surpassinggoogle) or who is familiar with #untalented #steemgigs #teardrops etc. I need help with this and so much of it. The models are set and the teardrops token economy is being set. The token has been created on steem-engine pending when steemit creates SMT. It is time to gather as one close-knit group, a really solid family.

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Hey my friend. How have you been? Looks like you have been busy shooting wildlife. Great photos and it is sad to know they are on the endangered list. Hope someone is doing something to help replenish their numbers.

Thank you @watersnake101! They used to be hunted for their plumage! The long white feathers were used for hats. Yes, thankfully, they are not hunted anymore. I'm trying to post more often. It's hard to get motivated these days!

OMG what beautiful and amazing birds ! I dont think we have them here in Australia :O I love them, and your photos are so lovely in capturing them as they mill about in their daily lives... Such an interesting bird !

I'm learning watercolours at the moment, do you think you would mind if I use some of your photos as a base to work from? I'd credit you, of course :)

Thank you for your comments! Feel free to use my images in your paintings! I'd love to see how they come out!

Congratulations @rwedegis! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies. Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi! Everything is great for taking photos.. Have a wonderful day!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for your comments!

You’re welcome!

Posted using Partiko iOS

@rwedegis Lovely, lovely photos! ((':

Makes me really wish that I could be up close and personal with such animals!

Thank you for your comments!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11