Passing on History

The other day I was having a conversation with two of my grand children - telling them about the life of my own father - their grand father.

They both listened intently and when I mentioned that their grand father had a whole chapter dedicated to him in the book "Animal Dunkirk" and the part he played in the animal rescue at Kariba in Zimbabwe, they were amazed - my grand daughter said she was going to tell all her friends at school that her grand father was famous!

I think it is important to pass on family history to the younger generations - even if they appear not really interested - there will come a day when they will want to know.

For myself, I have always been interested in family history and can trace my own family right back to 1688 and have a huge family tree with all the names on it.

However, still today there are questions that I wish I had asked my late dad and so some time back, I decided to make a scrap book for my children and grand children with all the photos, letters, etc., that I had collected over the years from both sides of my family right up until today so that they would be able to see their roots - and I hope one day they will carry on and add their own history to it.

Sort:  

That is such a wonderful thing to do! I can say that so much family history has gotten lost, especially on this generation. We have become such a transient society, everyone moving about and the separation of the family.

I spent an entire three summers along with a couple of siblings when we were teenagers, going from churches to cemeteries looking up family history, or the pieces that were missing. My mom and grandmother came too.

A lot of people don't realize the churches held so much history, it was the center of the universe here in the States. Until it wasn't. But, it is chock full of information and I found so much out that I didn't know. They had birth certificates, marriage certificates... it was like a goldmine!

There were also some things we didn't want to know that we found out. You are totally right. It is the best gift to give your children. The pieces of their history.

Nice post and great job in passing it on!

!tip

Sorry, the tip is higher than your deposit.
You can check your deposit by sending 0.001 SBD to @tipu with memo: status
(the minimal tip is 0.1 SBD/STEEM)

Thank you so much - and yes, I think churches would be full of information. - Years ago, I was walking in a very old cemetery and was quite distressed to see a whole group of grave stones of tiny children - all who had passed away at more or less the same time - maybe it was some sort of epidemic - but so sad to see.

I can relate. I recently sought out my g-grandparents' grave, and I remember bits of family history told to me by an uncle. I made sure to relay it to the next generation.

Good for you - and the fact that you are passing on your knowledge.

Oops! Ran to the bank to put more money in! Let's try this again!

!tip

🎁 Hi @lizziesworld! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Hail Tree Tuesday! Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Wow - thank you so much!

I have just recently lost my father and I wish every day I would have asked him more questions. I miss him dearly. This idea of the scrapbook is one that I hope I can do once we find the boxes of photos mom has packed away.

Thank you so much for the idea and encouragement. May you find more ideas.
Ren

Sorry to hear about your loss - and I hope you do the scrap book too.

I figure I will eventually. Mom has everything packed for now so there is still time.

Hi @lizziesworld!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.624 which ranks you at #14781 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 7 places in the last three days (old rank 14788).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 151 contributions, your post is ranked at #76.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61388.48
ETH 2984.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65