The Garden is Alive Again!

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Welcome to my Little Garden.

Madagascar Periwinkle01.jpg

Madagascar Periwinkle02.jpg

Madagascar Periwinkle03.jpg

I haven't been posting any updates of my garden for months, I guess it's due to the renovations then came the draught, which causes a lot of my plants and flowers dried out and died... Since it started to rain quite frequently nowadays, the garden has become alive again! YAY!

The first flower presented is called Madagascar Periwinkle, there are many types of colour, I used to have another 2 types of colours - white colour petals with light yellow in the centre and pink with dark red in the centre. This is a very common plant in the Tropical country, they are easily grown and can be found everywhere even along the roadside. Hopefully, I can show them in my next round of gardening post.

Adenium02.jpg

Adenium01.jpg

And here you have Adenium, or some called it 'Desert Rose'. It's a common houseplant here in Malaysia, you can find them in almost every household, in the city and in the rural area. The flower will blossom from a new grown stem, every time you trimmed the plant, they are so easy to take care of.

text16.png

Next: Edible Plants.

Mango01.jpg

Mango02.jpg

The mango really caught me by surprise, I actually left 2 of the seeds to dry in a container and totally forgotten about them due to the renovations, after 2-3 months, I found them and dropped them to the soil, just to see if anything will happen. Guess what, IT HAPPEN! After another 1-2 months in the soil, I found one of the seeds sprouted.

What surprises me is that there is 2 shoots sprouting from one seed, I didn't know that can happen! Can any of our homestead friends share some light on this? LOL

Pumpkin01.jpg

Now this is what I was waiting for, Pumpkin growing from a couple of seeds that I throw in recently, it did take it a few weeks to sprout, I was so happy when I found it that morning. The last time I try growing pumpkin was a failure, I would really like to try it again.

Aloe Vera01.jpg

ETC01.jpg

My Aloe Vera iis getting bigger and greener! The succulent was sharing space with my gingers and ALL of them are growing babies, so proud of them.

text16.png

Need Help: Anyone know what this plant is?

Edible01.jpg

Edible03.jpg

Edible02.jpg

I got the plant for free, and I only know it's edible, but I don't have the name to find out HOW to eat it! LOL...

It's growing wild in the garden and I have to keep trimming it, re-planting it to few more pots and it's now everywhere... hahaha... I felt it's a waste if to just throw it away, I rather give it away as an option.

Asking help from my expert ghsc friends, @goldendawne, @nateonsteemit, @el-nailul, @fionasfavourites, @simplymike, if you guys recognise this plant, do share with me, many thanks in advance!

That's it for today, I hope you enjoy the photos and will update again soon! Thank you!

text16.png

All photos were taken with my Samsung Galaxy S7 Edge.


Joe Steemit divider.jpg

Thank you for stopping by, this is a place where I can share the things I enjoy in life, art, gardening, nature, foods. This is why my divider above are filled with all the different kind of icons that I love doing. I hope you enjoy my post so far, leave me a comment if you like.
谢谢您的到访,这里是个我可以分享关于我所喜爱的生活,包括艺术,园艺,大自然,食物等等的地方。 这就是为什么我上面的页脚全都是我喜欢做的不同类型的图标。 我希望您喜欢我的帖子,如果您喜欢,不妨留下您的评语。

Proud Member of:

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

I have some plant like you in my garden. Worth to share on Steem.

Posted using Partiko Android

Would love to see your garden post too!

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

The forth is Plumeria, the first is Vinca, Manggo, pumpkin/squash, Aloe vera, Ginger, and i have no idea for the last one @joelai

Ah, thank you for replying, I was looking to see if anyone knows that last plant, so far no one has any idea yet... hahaha... But it was nice to hear from you though!!

I thing i have that kind in my home, I will try to ask my mom about that, that is difficult because it hasn't produce any flower yet, but from the leaf i guess I know it. Let me see If I can comeback tomorrow my friend. Wish you all the best

That's very kind of you my friend, thank you and have a good rest.

Hi hi...it is nice to see your garden is getting greener again. How are you @joelai

Hi @el-nailul, long time didn't visit your post, so sorry about that.
I'm doing good, how about you?

Just coming back today @joelai, and just made 1 post only, I hope tomorrow I will be able to access the net again

That's good to know, hope to see more from you!

I also have Aloe Vera in my home, no one really tried to eat it, though. The only use case I remember is to use it as a medicine when someone got accidentally burnt, which was me years ago 😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, Aloe Vera has many usages, one of it was, we use it to make shampoo gel!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thanks for your support!

Hmm, is it a bay plant? We had one growing up, bay leaves are really good in stews, but it's been forever since I've seen one.

Posted using Partiko Android

I Google bay plant, the leaves look hard, are they?
This one is actually soft and crunchy and doesn't have any scent.

They're definitely a hard leaf with a scent.

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah, back to square one.
Anyway, thanks for your quick response though! :)

@joelai - do you have any pictures of that plant's fruit or flowers? What do you eat? The fruit or the leaves or all?

Hey @fionasfavourites, thanks for replying.
Well, it doesn't have fruit nor flower, only the leaves. I haven't really try to eat it yet because I don't know how and the correct way to consume it.

Your plants are very similar to ours here in sub-tropical region.

The last one you are trying to identify, have you crushed a leaf to try work out what it smells like.

Perhaps a local nursery would be able to identify by take a few leaves into them.

If all else fails ask the elders in the village they normally have great knowledge on edible plants @joelai

Yes, our climate are quite similar actually.
I tried, it smells like normal leaves without a specific scent.
Nursery here normally been taken care of by foreigner workers, most of them don't know much.
We live in a city, elders are hard to find these days... But no worries, I will still try to ask around.
Thank you very much for the help @joanstewart!!! Really appreciated!!

Always happy to see some greens :0)

Although the last one looks slightly familiar, I can't tell you what plant it is. You could try a plant identifying app - there are various apps that will let you take a picture of a leave and then do a search and give some suggestions. But it might be too generic for that - it's not like it has something very specific when it comes to shape.

I really need to get started sowing indoors, since the gardening season is coming closer. But the weather has been so bad this last week and my mood has been the same. I really don't feel like doing anything. Hopefully, the sun will start to shine soon.

So glad to hear from you again @simplymike!!

That's the first time I heard an app can be used to identify stuff, that's so cool! But yeah, as you mention, the leaves look identical to other kinds because the shape is so normal.

I really wish you getting better in terms of health, last year must be a rough year for you. I Google the weather, your side is rainy and cloudy all the time right? I can' imagine without sunshine for so long!

Hope I can join your next gardening journal if I can remember to check your post! Love, Joe.

Thanks! I just got the news that I might need another surgery, which would mean I would have to start all over again. Pfff!
I'm indeed in need of a little sun. It has been surprisingly warm and sunny here about 2 or 3 weeks ago, but now we're back at rain, storm and clouds all over.

Gosh, that super sucks! When will that schedule to happen?
I wish I can share the heat with you, here in the noon, the sunlight can burn the skin!

I still have to make an appointment with the surgeon. Meanwhile, I'm going to try to do everything I can to maybe avoid it. I really don't want to start all over again...

So jealous about the sun... :0)

I wish the same for you. Going through surgery is never good for the body. I wish yoy well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85