Ulog 110: It's The Little (Cheap Or Free) Things

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

When it comes to our homestead, I like to get things for it either super cheap or free; and I'm willing to wait if I have to.

tea2.png

While I don't use Facebook for posting, sharing or catching up on drama in others' lives, I do like the Market Place feature. For those not familiar with this, it is more or less an online shopping experience. Think craigslist where you can post items for free and local people have the chance to contact you to purchase it.

It's also a great place to find garage and yard sales within a radius of your home.

You can also find some free items; like Freecycle used to be.

Well the other evening as we were relaxing after our post-dinner walk, Mr Golden D was just scrolling through the Market Place Household Near You section when he came across a lady who had various household items listed that were left over from a garage sale. He mentioned to me that she had a tea kettle (I've been looking for one for at the thrift stores and Goodwill outlets for the last six or so months).

But at the stores I have seen them selling for over $10. Which is too expensive for my ways. And brand new? Don't even get me started there!

So I found the lady's post through my account and set it up for me to pick up this handy-dandy $3 Tea Pot the following morning. She only lived two miles from us and I was already going out the next morning for an appointment, so I figured I could swing by and pick it up.

What I have found about using Market Place, at least for the items I am seeking, is that the seller will do a porch pickup.

You know... the item is left on the front or back porch and the buyer just has to leave the money under the welcome doormat, in the box or wherever else the seller suggests.

So I am now a proud owner of a tea pot.

It may not seem like much to some, but for me it is wonderful! I like to make tea for myself some days and when my parents come to visit that's all they drink it tea.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

On other recent Market Place pickups, I've been able to get (FOR FREE) these two barrels. One is cut off at the top; which I have delegated to being my yard tool holder. And the other one (which is MUCH bigger than a 55-gallon drum most people use for water and rain collection systems- it barely fit in the back of my SUV, I will be using for just that - a rain collection system. It even has the cut out on the top with the spicket for overflow and one on the bottom for hose.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

Another FB site to maybe check out is BuyNothing. I've been gifted some amazing things. It's ALL free. Here's the national website: https://buynothingproject.org/

Thank you for that site!
I have checked it out but my little village isn't listed... yet! But I'll keep an eye on it!

Thank you. Found a group near me to join!

Excellent! I've had really good luck with my group. :))

nice find for $3

Yes it was- I've already used it few times- Lovin' it!

I have found so many things for the homestead on FB local swap and sale. It feels way safer than craigslist too.

Yes! Much safer than CL.
I know many communities here have a special parking place reserved at police stations for people making online purchase exchanges/sales too.

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.978 which ranks you at #1137 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1135).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 181 contributions, your post is ranked at #63.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

What a great idea. We are new to homesteading, it never dawned on me to check the fb marketplace for things we are needing. I can't wait to see what I can find.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89