Ulog 108: My Massive Plantain: Oops! I Didn't Mean For This To Happen

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Just like with my comfrey plant, I have a love-hate relationship with plantain around the homestead.

I love to see the beautiful leaves grow bigger and bigger, I like to see the flowers bloom... but I detest how they both are garden ground cover hogs!

Usually when plantain begins to grow a little larger than normal, I'll pluck off some leaves to dehydrate and make salves and lotions and then weed them out. But this year I decided to let one grow larger than the normal. This was not due to premeditated thinking either... No, this was due to not being able to garden as much as I have in the past years. It was all because I am not able to get down in there and really weed, garden and do my gardening tasks as I'm still experiencing elongated discomfort and prolonged recovery from last year's accident.

This frustrates me beyond words!

But back to the plantain...

This weed as many view it has such value. The uses are endless and I do try to get my fair share of it in the summer to have on hand in the weed off-season.

My plantain first aid salve made earlier this year.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Some of my favorite ways use to plantain are:

  • Salves
  • Lotions
  • Tinctures

Plantain has so many health benefits too:

  • Soothes insect/mosquito bites & bee stings (salve or lotion)
  • Helps soothe sunburn (salve or lotion)
  • Aids in healing of scrapes and bruises (make a poultice from the leaves)
  • Helps reduce inflammation and breakouts of acne and skin blemishes (salve or lotion)
  • As a tincture in tea for your digestive and urinary tracts

Have no fear, I did end up pulling out this plantain as I have more than enough leaves for what I need now.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

I make a "spit poultice" from the plantain leaves whenever I have a spider bite or some insect bite that itches A LOT! Not only does it numb the bite but it numbs my mouth a little while I masticate the leaf.

And I can understand ambivalence towards plantain. I just weed-wack it in places that it seems to be bothersome since I know it is a beneficial plant. I have a lot of beneficial plants that would like to take over my gardens. It's a never ending battle to find balance but it keeps me off the streets and out of trouble. ;-)

I didn't know that it numbed.
However it also draws... pulls out the poison from the bite.

Right, that's why I put it on my spider bite. ;-)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Congratulations @goldendawne! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 15000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 16000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.981 which ranks you at #1135 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 4 places in the last three days (old rank 1139).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 172 contributions, your post is ranked at #28.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Great article. I'd love to see more about how you (personally) make your salve, etc. And how you use your tincture, etc.

My personal observation - and something I saw mentioned in another text where Natives used plantain on rattlesnake bite - even advanced cases...
Plantain has "drawing" properties... i.e. it pulls out the poison.

In a pinch, you can substitute or mix plantain with dock weed. It works almost as well.

Howdy goldendawne! that's an amazing plant but I didn't know it was such a ground cover hog that takes alot of work to control! I doubt if we'll be adding that one.

That's great to see how differently it can be used. I have no idea on this.

Posted using Partiko Android

When I feel off my bike I chewed some plantain and then rubbed it on my bruised and scraped elbow and it worked wonders! How do you make the salve?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84