Portrait Photography Contest - Candid - "Transcend"steemCreated with Sketch.

in #portraitcontest7 years ago (edited)

candidPOrtrait-gbk-4.jpg


"I stayed 20 minutes in front of this girl, shen never moved a finger. "

candidPOrtrait-gbk-7.jpg

This shot has been taken at the Temple of Juno in 2012 at Burning Man. This lady intrigued me and I was fascinated by her posture, as I said I tried different angles, and after 20 minutes, even if I believe I was not bothering her, a guardian of the temple told me that I should stop and let her meditate.

This image remains one of the most powerful portrait have been able to capture in Black Rock City.


Specs :

  • Nikon D800
  • Nikon 50mm f2,2
  • 1/125s - ISO 200
  • © Gilles Bonugli Kali

Location : Black Rock City


If you liked this you can read my general introduction here :

https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@eyegasm/hi-steemit-i-am-eyegasm

Access my other blog posts here :

https://steemit.com/@eyegasm


bandogasm.jpg

Sort:  

Powerful Portrait, thats must be some powerful meditation she is doing to stay still for that long i can barely stand still for 30 seconds

Thanks ! I know... This really impressed me and for a long time after this I was thinking about her. How she could have stayed so long really without moving. It was as if her body was here but her mind, far away.

Maybe that is the power if her meditation she can move from her body

I believe so...

It is indeed a powerful portrait. It is very interesting to follow your Burning Man series. Each time you uploading there is some special character in the image. Makes me want to come to this even more and more each time.

Thanks ! As I said before, what I could show with my picture is probably not even 1% of what you can see and experiment there. The best is actually to go with a creative project in mind. Some photographers do photowalks, I remember one guy that had hooked a mini trailer to his bike. On it there was his studio flash and he was cruising the playa offering portraits to people... So good.

Amazing stuff :)

I have been following Burning Man for many years and haven't managed to get there yet. Amazing photo @eyegasm. I've heard there's a lot of "trippy" possibilities there. Was it hard on your camera equipment concerning the sand storms and all?

It is a whole journey, something you will never forget. Regarding camera equipment, yes it is hard. I never protected mine, but you defo should do it. It's not sand storms lol, it's dust... Literally clouds of sediments hitting your face (and your camera) several times a day...

I took the same type of camera risk at Holi Festival in India with all of the fine powder flying around. Ruined my little Nikon CoolPix but was totally worth it.
@originalworks

love the portrait and the story about

Thank you Victor !

Yess, this is the most powerful and great portrait. Something unique have never seen before.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratz, you just have been resteemed by @pixresteemer!
(All right but who is pixresteemer?)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.97
ETH 2619.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80