THE GRASS IS GREENER WHERE YOU WATER IT.

in #popcontest6 years ago

I always wanted to be an Engineer. I knew this, and so did everyone around me. I remember that Dad would call me his little engineer, each time I brought my report card home after an examination, I could see the pride in his eyes and it made me happy that the thought of it made him happy, because he was a hard man to please. When I grew up, I realized that some of those thoughts and aspirations weren't mine, they were his. And they had been infused into me, without my acknowledgement.

images(9).jpg

I grew up incredibly fast, in size, maturity, and intelligence, and as planned, joined the science train, even though everything about me pointed towards the Arts. I was too young and naive, to think about what made me happy. I was passionate about the arts, but being the intelligent teenager I was, I soared through the science section and graduated high school with good grades, whilst trying constantly to drown the part of me that craved for the arts, because all I knew was, I was going to become an Engineer.

Most of the time, Life has a funny way of giving you what you want, even when she knows that it Isn't what you need. This was the case with me, as I gained admission to study Civil Engineering in a prestigious University of my choice. It was at this stage, that I realized that I had joined the wrong train. I wasn't passionate about science in the least, and it showed. The hit from reality was brutal as it affected everything about me. For the most part, my university days were a drag. I thought of switching sides, all the time, I needed to be on the greener side, the art side.

It took a while for me to realize that the grass is actually greener where you water It, so I changed tactics. I put in my best, stopped second guessing, and found new things to like about engineering, and with each passing day, developed passion for it. Sure, there's still that part of me that wants to experience the Arts, and I will, but I'm fine on this side of the field, because I watered it.

images(8).jpg

You can make lemonade, when given lemons. If you want things to get better, you have to be willing to work for it, you gotta put in your best. If you want your steemit account to grow, you have to be willing to invest in it, create quality content, power up on steem, Interact, and socialize. The same goes for Jobs, relationships, marriages, etc. You gotta get busy watering your own side of the field, too busy to notice the other side.

Image source: google
DQmcGTgE9ztQ7QmWESyE7uVqLrUqfbAa1fsTCod6dmsFYjP.gif

Sort:  

This is so true and a great entry to my #popcontest ! Thanks for sharing your story with us , upped and resteemed Good luck ! 👍👍👍✌😀

Thanks for reading. I hope it inspires everyone who reads.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62726.25
ETH 3050.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81