Determination to lay down her life for others.

in #popcontest6 years ago (edited)

She is none other than my aunt, precisely she is my husband's aunt, but officially became mine after I got married into the family. She is my father-in-law's eldest sister. I want to tell her story so to inspire others about perseverance in life with positivity.

FB_IMG_1517720937028.jpg
My lovely aunt with my eldest son.

I don't have alot of detailed story of her as in the accurate date or the chronological events of happening, but because I see her very often, I have the chance to hear her stories of the past, oh my, I learn so much from her. She is truly my inspiration although she can sound strict but her heart meant good and love for me. Pardon me if I don't include alot of photos of her, she is just not the photo-type as of now.

Growing up

Growing up for her was not easy. Back then the country was in war and she being the eldest would naturally want to protect all her siblings and her mother. She did not have a father, as the father passed away when she was young. Before he passed away he had 3 wives, and his wealth was not being inherited much by his first wife, my aunt's mother (I hope my info is accurate as I did not busybody to ask further). Therefore since young she had decided to not get married so to take care of the family. She also did not pursue her study due to want to help her mother (my husband's grandmother) in the food business selling noodle. It was hard work knowing that they woke up early in the morning to prepare then to sell the noodle whole day. One day her mother became ill and weak to continue the business, so my aunt was on her own to earn money. She told me once she worked 3 jobs per day - a cleaner for an expatriate's home, a cook for another expatriate and part-time babysitter for another expatriate's children. Due to not able to drive, so she walked or travel by bus most of the time. Life was indeed tough, but the idea that she could bring back money for the family kept her going.

Her detour in 2011

My firstborn was about to come out in February 2011. He was the clan's first grandson and everyone was excited for his arrival - like the arrival of a king. Aha! Guess what, my aunt was so proud for being first time great aunt to my son, she quit her jobs to assist me in my confinement month and thereafter became his babysitter fulltime. I was touched beyond words to expressed. I told her she need not stop her jobs because my family could not pay her as much as what she received from other jobs. But she said money was not important, newborn is important and a newborn into her clan is precious, she would rather not have the money but to take care of my son. Awwww....melted. I did not have a picture my son as a newborn with her because she believed newborn and young baby should not be exposed to camera. Back then until now, all I can see from her eyes when she gazes at Jayden is love. She took care of me well in the whole month of my confinement and then continued to be the nanny of my son.

Health challenge in 2012

My aunt had her routine check up and doctor found out she had unusual high blood pressure. Due to her age, doctor was worried and asked her not to work anymore but to rest. With heavy heart, we stopped our son from her babysitting and advised her to rest although it was full of reluctance from her in the beginning due to her love for my son. To assure her, I told her when she got better, she could always take care of my son again. I saw her determination to get well; she stopped drinking coffee and avoid any food that caused high blood pressure as per doctor's advice. She told me she would be strong again to babysit Jayden and that with God's help, nothing was impossible. True enough, just in one year's time, we saw her health improve. Truly there is power in love. Her determination to stay alive and fit and healthy is commendable. Really whenever there is a will, there is way.

FB_IMG_1517720724395.jpg
She loves my son dearly. She also loves my husband and @danielwong. She loves all the children 💖.

FB_IMG_1517717486351.jpg
Great aunt and my son moment.

Her as of today.

Today she is as fit as a fiddle. I would say she is fitter than me. Half an hour non-stop walking is a piece of cake for her, whereas to me, I will be panting. Lol. My son is 7 years old now and only go to her place on Saturday to be pampered by her with good food. And I get to pamper my taste-bud too because I have my lunch there every Saturday. Did I tell you she is a super duper good chef? She is! She cooks Chinese cuisine well. Western cuisine is her norm as she worked with expatriate for years. She bakes cookies and pie and cake awesomely heaven! Mind my vocabulary because that is what I feel. 😘 And my son gets to learn from her.

20180219_135310.jpg
Her signature coconut cookie.

20180219_135850.jpg
Her baking class with my son - cookies.

20180219_135442.jpg
Every year during Chinese New Year, she will fry arrowhead fruit for us.

20180219_140433.jpg
Her signature Christmas fruit cake. Every year she never fails to bake for us. Look at the amount of almond nuts she put you will know she is one generous lady.

Chinese New Year 2018 at her house.

IMG-20180215-WA0040.jpg
Steamed big pomphret.

IMG-20180215-WA0042.jpg
Meat with flower mushrooms, underneath is layer of chinese sausages.

IMG-20180215-WA0039.jpg
Chicken with arrowhead fruit and leek.

IMG-20180215-WA0033.jpg
Dried oyster dumpling.

2018-02-19-13-07-09.jpg
My superstar aunt. See, I told you she is fit at her age.

Her precious advice to me.

  1. As a woman of the house, always behave as a woman and takes care of family well.

  2. Never look down on the poor.

  3. Never judge the rich. Most importantly, do not be merely men-pleaser. However if in circumstances you need to, do it with sincere motive, wisdom, intergrity and from a good heart.

  4. If you become rich, don't put your eyes higher than your brain, lest you become snobby proud and you become brainless because you no longer use brain, only use your eyes to judge (sorry I literally translate from Chinese).

  5. Always honor the old ones and parents.

  6. As long as you are fit to work, be diligent. Be lazy and you have nothing.

  7. If all things fail, remember God can help. Stay positive in life and always get going till the day your mission here on earth ends.

  8. No one is ever too old to do anything if the person never gives up.

I hope my story of her life brings some positivity about life and sparks of some determination to live a fruitful life. I write about her so that I can pass on some good legacy of her to others (and to my children). She often will tell me that she is unsure when she will sleep forever (means pass on) so since she still can cook for us, she will do it with all of her heart. She even passes a set of her house keys to me just in case. I love her so much eventhough I had been reprimanded (her way of showing love) by her few times for some parenting mistakes. lol.

Thank you @karenmckersie for your popcontest. 😍



With 💗, @iamjadeline

FB_IMG_1517843172595.jpg

LEGEND_20180217_013608.gif

20180212_193505-320x240.png


Steemit Bloggers

Appreciator
Animated Banner Created By @zord189


Sort:  

Wow what an awesome all original story you shared here in my #popcontest , Your aunt is a wonderful ans very smart lady ! You missed the last contest but because the next contest starts soon , im just finishing the post now You will be entered into this contest #28 !! This one is better it has bigger prizes plus hopefully you get more upvotes as its just starting ! Upped and resteemed , good luck ! 😀💕✌👍

Oh my, thank you for kind gestures to slot me into the contest #28. Okay I will upvote and resteem the new post from you. And also put my post link there. Thank you @karenmckersie. Muah! 😗

SUch a great lady. I believe she is like your second mother in law , hopefully she will be in good health always

nice scenery, remembered my baby time, and remembered the love of a mother, delicious cake, thanks for sharing @iamjadeline
BeautyPlus_20180213095139_save.jpg

Thank you for dropping by @jhoni. Yes the love of a mother is irreplacable.💓

same friend @ jhoni really need support thank you very much😄

Indeed, 家有一老 如有一宝

Doesn't matter from which side of the family. If we can't learn to appreciate the affections and the experience from the older generations, it is truly our loss.

Also, cute baby photos ! :3

So true! they are the gems.

Thank you for always supporting and for your compliment. 🙂

@iamjadeline, those advice of hers are truly precious, like you said. A great blessing! :)

Thank you for dropping by. Yes it is a great blessing. 😊

I love her!! What an amazing lady! Thank you for sharing her!

Thank you for your love. 🙂💖

You are very blessed @iamjadeline to have such a nice and sacrificial aunty who loves your son and your family so much. We should always treasure our loved ones while they are still alive, else we will end up regretting it one day

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #foodphotography

You have earned 6.35 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.27
Server time: 07:55:55
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 495.14/800.00
Total Photos: 55
Total comments: 70
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

I really appreciate this post. We need to look more after the ones around us.
I was already following you and your articles are very nice. Keep doing the good job and you will feel even better. Cheers!

Indeed a very strong and healthy lady. wonder how they can keep it up..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98