What made me stay on Steemit? The power of positivity!

in #popcontest6 years ago

A journalist who had to flee her home country of New Zealand because she was being threatened with death by intelligence agencies convinced me to join Steemit.

I figured it would be a good way to support her and my other favorite independent journalists with upvotes.

Because I didn't sign up to promote myself, my introduction is pretty sad, looking back. I wish I'd known more then, but my journey on Steemit has been an adventure of learning.

As I was fumbling around on this website, I found posts from people all over the world, sharing images and stories of their lives. It was like traveling on a screen. Delightful.

I started posting pictures of my little part of the USA. I participated in challenges and contests. It was fun to gain some more followers, and I got to see even more of the world.

Since I wanted to share my own culture, I wrote a couple of posts about special places where I live. They didn't get much attention (new to the platform), but I appreciated the upvotes and kind comments I did get.

What really pushed my Steemit experience into the positive zone was when I discovered the fiction and poetry writing contests. They made me rediscover my love of literature. That's soul enriching.

What keeps me going on Steemit is support. I support my favorite journalists, photographers, and writers. This platform has some remarkable people, and I try to encourage them with upvotes, resteems, and follows.

I also truly appreciate the support I get. I had one person even point out a mistake I made that would have disqualified me for a contest. That's not even counting all the words of encouragement I've received. I'm grateful for the positivity. It's infectious.

The first contest I won was third place in @inuke's challenge, "Message Beyond the Grave." I was thrilled. An affirmation! We all need those sometimes. They keep us going.

So, who is this generous person, @inuke, who both helped inspire me and helped keep me on my writing path?

I think he might be a writer from India. I've never been to that country, but as I look at my own brown and gray winter landscape, my thoughts wander to a place thousands of miles away.

I've always thought of India as being colorful.

Screenshot_20180220-173136.png


Story and image by me, @hope-k!

@inuke's challenge, "What Made You Stay on Steemit," can be found at this link: https://steemit.com/contest/@inuke/inuke-s-story-writing-challenge-5-what-made-you-stay-on-steemit

@karenmckersie's contest, "Power of Positivity," can be found at this link: https://steemit.com/popcontest/@karenmckersie/new-steemit-power-of-positivity-contest-28-plus-last-weeks-winners-announced Check out her cheery graphics!

Sort:  

Your intro was definitely not sad!
You have just grown since and it seems so far away from where you are now. You rock! Keep up the journey 👍
I look forward to watching

Thank you! 😊

Very nicely written @hope-k! I can relate to a lot in this post, keep writing! Your expression is superb! :)

Thank you!

So glad that support you give and get on Steemit keeps you going and motivates you @hope-k ! Me too !! Thanks for sharing and entering your awesome story on Steemit ! Upped and resteemed , Good luck !👍💕✌😀

Thank you! I love your graphics. 💖

Awe thanks ! and your very welcome !!💕✌👍😀

travelling on a screen

I can relate to that. Due to the diversity of Steemians, one gets to see snapshots of people, places & culture of fascinating places. For me these places include Latvia & Azerbaijan.

That was a nice thoughtful post!

Thank you!

your steemit story so far is really motivating especially for newbies like me on the community
just followed you hoping to see more of your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16