The Problem With These God Damned Politics Today

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

      There are very few things in this world I despise more than politics. The worst part is that no matter how much I hate it, it's everywhere. Especially with this pissing competition the media seems to have been having with Trump since early last year, I challenge you to go a day without hearing about this crap. If you use the internet or traverse through the world it's just inevitable.

      Ever since this past election cycle it seems that everyone's identifying more and more with what "side" they're on. I wish I had the exact quote, but Jordan Peterson said it best. He said that we're seeing a philosophical renaissance, in which everyone wants to know and share what their fellows and own personal, social, and political views on the world are. There's a big problem though. People are fucking stupid.

      I guarantee the majority of the people who go around mindlessly complaining about Donald Trump (Omg he's literally Hitler, he's sending all the Mexicans out because he's racist, Muslim ban?? Obviously only motivated by xenophobia) don't know a god damned thing about his policies or what actions he's actually been taking. I'm not a Trump supporter by any means, but people don't know how to formulate their own opinions. They'll see a headline and run with it, because that's just the thing to do. Trump supporters are all racist, homophobic, sexist pieces of shit right? They can't be on that side. Which brings me into my next complaint. People are stupid.

      This whole battle between the left vs the right is toxic, and it breeds ignorance and dogmatic belief systems. I know so many people that just because they think of themselves as a conservative or a liberal they suddenly have to agree with everything these people say, it's like they're following a fucking sport team (s/o to Joe Rogan for that one). "I'm a conservative, so I have to say climate change is a hoax even though I've never researched it for myself." Or worse yet, when someone actually does look into something, but sides with their "team" regardless of their thoughts on the matter.

      As a millennial I can say that this social war has divided my generation into two different sectors. There's the ones of the typical mass belief that everything going on in the government today is horrible, and think that Donald Trump is the anti christ. Then there's the other side who've seemingly completely rejected the others, dissociating themselves nearly completely, and making it a point to talk down on everyone else. Sometimes even going as far as being physically violent. It's a sad thing when people won't be friends because they sit on different sides of a political spectrum, or they disown family members because they voted for Trump. Then you see these protest videos where there's thousands of people protesting the president because he's "violent" "sexist" and "racist," yet they're going out and beating the shit out of his supporters (Men and Women) with baseball bats, talking about how evil men are, and vilifying white people to no ends. They'll fight what they perceive as fascism with actual fucking fascism, yet they're not even self aware of how ridiculous they're acting. It's damned embarrassing. Yet if don't align myself with them I'm a racist, and if I don't align myself with the right I'm a beta cuck. So to every radical or asshole on either side, this is a public service announcement. Go fuck yourself.

End rant.

Sort:  

So much easier to route around politics with Steemit. Thanks to Dan and Ned, for a wonderful basis to build upon!

Hell yeah!

Politics is just too much of a headache , a war we can't fight

Agreed. The thing that bugs me the most about this is that it's such a waste of time. Instead of trying to figure shit out, or finding some kind of common ground, everyone picks a side and nothing gets done.

Emphasis on nothing.

I finally have something I can comment on tonight. In other words, something I saw that was intelligent and worthwhile. Good rant, good post.

Thanks, I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28