You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some things are Too Wretched to be Civilized; war is one of these things!

in #politics6 years ago

The essence of prepping is preparing for situations that MIGHT occur. The RBC suit might see use If I must go into town, if I have heard of sickness there. It might just be extra warmth in winter. You always look at multiple use scenario for every item.

Do I think we will be nuked? Possibly. By or own government? Possibly. DO I EXPECT IT TO HAPPEN? No I do not. Have I prepared for it if it does? Yes. I have Gieger counters, Iodine capsules, Dosiometers, RBC suit, gas masks, and a fallout shelter. I pray I never need any of it, but prudence recommends having them.

The costs go up every day, as more people realize the risk. I bought most of this online, but have no idea what it is going for today.

Sorry! :'(

Sort:  

ok sir smithlabs but you have a great memory, what did they cost years ago? your new house that you're building will obviously have a fallout shelter?

I paid about $50 for the RBC suit. I would expect it to cost about $70 today. The gas mask should cost about $40. The CD Geiger counter will be about $35. The Dosiometer will vary, but should be about $25. The iodine pills will run about $15 . The fallout shelter is too individual to guess at, but mine was about $6000. All best guess, may vary some.

I will build a storm cellar rated for an F5 tornado. It will accidentally have a lead sheet on top of it. I have most of the lead already; I will melt and pour it after I get out there.

:)

wow sir smithlabs! a lead cover on it lol..man that's doin it right!

Yes, no other way to do it?

Plates probably about a 1/4 inch thick. I will need to figure out how heavy a plate to make, so I can still move it myself! I will glue them down, and glue a sealing strip over the joints.

:D

ok..well too bad you don't know an engineer who could design a simple opening device like with gears or something, I don't know, I'm not an engineer.

Maybe I can find an Engineer who will help me design it, ROFLOL!

With Debbie it must be above ground, to allow her to roll in, so weight is not a problem on doors. It is a problem for my back putting it on the roof....

:)

oh ..well too bad you don't know an engineer who can design something that would make it easy like with gears or pulleys or something! lol

It will weigh 14 pounds per square foot at 1/4 inch thickness, So a 2 foot by 4 foot sheet 1/4 inch thick will be 112 pounds. I can move and set that by myself! Glued down to the cement, we will be good, I will glue a 1 inch strip over the joints just to make sure of full protection.

The entry door will look like a normal door, and open into the hall by the Master bedroom!

:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34