You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "The Left" on Freedom of Speech and why we do not have it in Germany

in #politics7 years ago (edited)

I personally think that there should be a legitimate avenue for "hate speech". Out-dated laws like the one that you reference prevent this and it merely takes those with seeds of doubt and forces them underground.

The problem with forcing an idea underground is that it is more likely to fester rather than evolve.

This is pretty much in line with my thoughts expressed a couple of months ago.

Thank you kindly for choosing to touch upon the subject @thatgermandude - as the climate is indefinitely and artificially hyper-sensitive.

Sort:  

I do think the subject is also extremely important, maybe that is why it is so hyper-sensitive ;).

Good to see that most actual people I talk to (real-life and social media) seem to share the sentiment that freedom of speech is not something made to discuss flowers and ponies, but to discuss the controversial topics.

I am a student of consistency. ;c)

In a sense that makes me a student of a level of law higher than those written as rules calling themselves laws that are inconsistent are not worth the paper that they are written on.

That doesn't make me special - just an early adopter. ;c) The water is warm.

But yes, the subject is quite important if we value the right to exercise our nature-given faculties.

I am a student of consistency

Ah yeah, I remember. Consistency is something that I do advocate as well. If you claim to have certain believes but don't act accordingly then that makes it almost impossible to have a valueable discussion with someone.

I remember there being a lot more to your way of consistency, I am not quite certain what it is, but I like what I read so far ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66028.29
ETH 2694.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.89