A Rant Against My Hillary vs. Trump Facebook Feed

in #politics8 years ago

You know what won't change after the election?

You.

You'll still have your same biases and get your information from the same sources which are crafted to give you your same opinion. You'll hate the same things and love the same things. You'll follow the same leaders because of the same tribalism. You'll be afraid of the same things.



You know what could change today?

Everything.

Starting with you and whatever book you start or conversation you have with the intention of learning something new and changing your opinion (or at the least refining it). You matter more to yourself, your family, and your communities then any political "leader" ever will.

Think outside your box. Challenge yourself. Start with things you "know" are true but many other smart people disagree with. Read, learn, and grow.

You matter more than you realize.


(I posted this to Facebook a couple hours ago because my feed was becoming ridiculous. It seems to have struck a nerve, so I'm sharing it here as well.)

Sort:  

During this erection cycle I've had to remove so many friends from my facebook feed that there's nothing but 30-second recipe videos left...

Hahaha... dang. That's rough. I've been on Steemit so much, I haven't noticed it much. But tonight... it got to me.

Yeah. . . pretty sad. . . the US needs to start working on things like "compromise" and "civil discourse" again. There's so much yelling that everyone's forgotten how to listen.

Great post! I left a comment there for you.

Yeah I am guilty of getting caught up in it. Even though I am an anarchist (and a Canadian who could not even vote down there) I get mesmerized and amazed how two such disgusting candidates can be seriously supported by millions of people.

It is quite fascinating. The framework of "you must choose a ruler from these two parties" runs so deep, it's almost unavoidable for most people.


You know what very well MIGHT change after the election?
This


Heheh, gotta love me some Zerohedge. It's been a while since I've read their stuff.

Balkanization of USA can be a good thing, it will be good for the markets, good for business - so those who are worried about such a scenario - don't be!

I like the idea of decentralization, but also recognize my own bias in that I want no government at all (and by government, I mean a "legitimate" or "justified" monopoly on the initiation of force within a geographic region).

Even this article snuck in some "If they win, disaster! But if they lose..." etc. I'm getting to the point where I'm just laughing at it all because my own life will be determined by what I do tomorrow, not what goes on in D.C. or the media.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87