So, the President walks into a Bar(bershop)

in #politics4 years ago

The other day I was browsing r/politicalhumor.

Expecting posts that would reflect reddits safe space policies, I set myself a limit of 10 images to analyze, secondarily I forbid myself from reading any comments of the “orange man bad” type of post.

Skipping numbers 1-9 my gaze fell on a post about the former President of the United States, Barrack Obama. The picture showed him in a barbershop getting his hair done, the text exclaiming how amazing this occurrence was.

The top rated comment read something along the lines of:”Trump would never do this. This strengthens my theory that he barely showers and probably stinks.”
Unfortunately, I cannot tell you how this impedes someones ability to govern. Also, it´s unclear to me since when body shaming was made OK.

Diverting my attention to the other redditors comments, I saw a a pattern of people gushing over the idea of their hero, in this case Obama, walking into one of their premises.

This shocked me. Do these people think that this “just happens”. Because It doesn´t Speaking from indirect experience (I know a guy who runs a restaurant).

They guy once hosted a Dinner for the President of Germany. While they sure pay nicely, it´s more an advertisement (or for bragging rights) to serve him and his posse.

The planning took weeks, if not months. All but the quintessential staff were released from work for that day and replaced with armed state agents. All Blueprints of the premises had to be made available. Him and all his staff had had to have several background checks done.

The owner even had to sign away his property rights for that day, just so the federal agents did not each need a warrant to go in and out whenever they pleased.

And in the end it nearly didn´t even take place because, and I quote the Presidents secretary:”We don´t dine when there are criminal waiters around” Turns out one of the cooks went to court a couple of years back for leaking nudes from his ex.

After explaining that he did not know that about his staff he still had to plead for it to work and only got accepted back in because it was a non-violent crime that was a long time ago.

So the Idea of any President of any country just walking into somewhere is ludicrous to me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80