To Caiitlin Johnstone, Elizabeth Vos, Suzie Dawson, Lee Camp, Jimmy Dore: Thank You

in #politics6 years ago

This is a Thank You note to the real journalists of our generation. I can’t say I’ve heard of them all, but I’d specifically like to thank Caitlin Johnstone, Elizabeth Vos, Suzie Dawson, Lee Camp, Jimmy Dore. and all their associates for their work. You guys, words can not express my gratitude for your fortitude, honesty, intelligence, and courage in the face of the dangers you actively expose every day. There was a time when our only evidence of government treachery was our own personal accounts of events. Julian Assange changed that for all of us. Without him, that little piece of self-doubt inside of me would have always been subject to gaslighting. That piece would’ve had to accept that the only solution was a part of me was in fact, insane. And in the those moments, I had you guys.

I have learned so much from your reporting. Sheikha Latifa Al Maktoum taught me to be brave thanks to Elizabeth. The words, “I don’t care, I’m not afraid of him; he’s pathetic”, will be forever etched into my memory. I just remember thinking, after everything he did to her, if she can not be afraid, then so can I.

Last week, my mother shared with me a story that I thought you would enjoy. She works in a finance department of non-profit organization and had recently gained some new co-workers. They would chat about politics and have pleasantly logical conversations regarding taxes. Where one saw theft, the other saw corporate subsidy. They would listen to each other and find each other were on the same page, you know, humanity. Well my mother’s reaction when she found this women identified as conservative was beautiful. She said “everything you’ve been talking about suddenly clicked and now it all makes so much sense.” She became self aware she had a...and I hate calling it this… “liberal bias”. She realized had her co-worker identified as conservative first, she would have listened to her words differently. Her response becomes, “Maybe, that’s the tool they used to keep us divided.” And her co-worker seemed to have a similar revelation.

I attribute this to you. My mother can now walk around without the weight of the “opposition party or else” mentality that currently plagues my country. You guys taught me how to help spread awakening. Lee’s “How to Write a Propaganda Piece for the New York Times” taught me exactly how to show others what they couldn’t see.

1- Find something a person knows well.
2- Show them a slander piece on that information.
3- Find something currently being slandered in the news.
4- Show them how the slander is done in the exact same way.
5- Read the original slander piece again.

Now I understand that, to be effective, you need a cumulative effort of vigilance over a long period of time. Your work did this for me and my family. I know you guys are currently being monetarily and mentally oppressed and that things are hard right now. I hope this story brings a smile to your face.

Thank you.

Jared Goldstein
Master of Music in Vocal Performance
Draftsperson
Advocate of Human Rights

Sort:  

Congratulations @jaredgoldstein! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59117.01
ETH 2525.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48